This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New To Feeding A Child With Celiac, Help!

missbread

missbread Newbie

hi all, i am more than certain my 7 yr old son has celiac, i first noticed when he got the age of potty training, he didnt start using a toilet untill he was 4 years old and even now has very regular bouts of diarrhoea and often doesnt make it to the toilet :(, i first started with symptoms while i was pregnant with him and was diagnosed despite a neg blood test, i am also quite certain both my parents and sister has it. I have been ignoring my celiac for 7 yrs now but its time to change!, this also means including my son in this life style change, but OMG, i am almost stricken with panick as to what to feed him. It's difficult enough feeding him as he is a very picky eater, won't eat potatoes,veg,pasta,etc etc. Now i am quite certain i will be able to cook gluten free meals (after a bit of practice) and was wondering if anyone has any fun recipes that small children like or knows and sites to go to, also any tips on how to support a small person when they have to deal with not being allowed their fave snacks like candies!? I feel so mean when i tell him he can't have things like certain ice creams etc etc. Does chocolate contain gluten? are there any alternatives? I am so confused as to what to do with him, it's hard enough feeding my self hahah

any feedback would be so welcome

thanks!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

tarnalberry Community Regular

Granted, my daughter is only 1, and afaik she doesn't have celiac, but she eats what I eat, so she gets lots of: