Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
DesertDogs

Great Value Original Liquid Eggs

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I've been off gluten for 3 weeks now and have had a wonderful recovery. However, this morning I had a gluten reaction and I was completely surprised! The 'new foods' I had yesterday:

1. Wonderlabs Gluten-free Quercitin and Bromelain (took for 2 days prior to reaction)

2. Great Value Cut Green Beans (Ingredients: Green Beans, Water, Salt) It's interesting that these are not touted as being gluten free on this link, but the French Style Green Beans clearly state that they are naturally gluten free...

3. Fresh corn on the cob.

4. Great Value Original Liquid Eggs These are listed as "Believed" to be Gluten Free here, but I suspect there's something in the "Natural Flavor" ingredient. The Egg Whites Product says it's "Confirmed" gluten-free.

Cross-contamination is not an issue as no one here eats gluten.

So, I suspect the liquid eggs. I just wanted to post and see if anyone had any input or experience with this product.

Thanks. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There could have been a CC at the factory as well :(

I'd single those out, one at a time and see what does it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Cross-contamination is not an issue as no one here eats gluten.

Cross-contamination can occur at any point on the production path.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've been off gluten for 3 weeks now and have had a wonderful recovery. However, this morning I had a gluten reaction and I was completely surprised! The 'new foods' I had yesterday:

1. Wonderlabs Gluten-free Quercitin and Bromelain (took for 2 days prior to reaction)

2. Great Value Cut Green Beans (Ingredients: Green Beans, Water, Salt) It's interesting that these are not touted as being gluten free on this link, but the French Style Green Beans clearly state that they are naturally gluten free...

3. Fresh corn on the cob.

4. Great Value Original Liquid Eggs These are listed as "Believed" to be Gluten Free here, but I suspect there's something in the "Natural Flavor" ingredient. The Egg Whites Product says it's "Confirmed" gluten-free.

Cross-contamination is not an issue as no one here eats gluten.

So, I suspect the liquid eggs. I just wanted to post and see if anyone had any input or experience with this product.

Thanks. :)

Did you call the 800 number on the Great Value package? Very nice group of folks who are supplied with the most up-to-date information available.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"natural flavors" can contain anything here in the U.S.A.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"natural flavors" can contain anything here in the U.S.A.

Wheat would have to be disclosed under FALCPA.

Barley could conceivably hide there, although in practice it is listed as "malt flavor."

Shelley Case, RD, in her book Gluten-Free Diet: A Comprehensive Resource Guide says,

It would be rare to find a "natural or artificial flavoring" containing gluten because: (a) hydrolyzed wheat protein cannot be hidden under the term "flavor," and (B) barley malt extract or barley malt flavoring is almost always declared as "barley malt extract" or "barley malt flavoring." For this reason, most experts do not restrict natural and artificial flavorings in the gluten-free diet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remember, too, that you've only been off gluten for three weeks. It's possible that you were just having a bad healing day. Feel better!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×