Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

kaygato

Maltodextrin In My Vitamins?

Recommended Posts

Hello I'm new to food intolerances and paying attention to what I eat. I may have a gluten intolerance or some other food intolerances. I am working on getting tested.

I was just looking at the multivitamin I take and notices it has maltodextrin as an ingredient. Nutrilite Women's Pack is what I'm taking. It's an Amway brand.

I know that foods in the U.S. are required to say whether or not the maltodextrin is from wheat, but is the same true for vitamins? Do I need to call and ask if I want to know?

Thanks anyone who answers this. I was jsut curious, since if I end up with a gluten intolerance I'd like to limit it as much as possible obviously.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Hello I'm new to food intolerances and paying attention to what I eat. I may have a gluten intolerance or some other food intolerances. I am working on getting tested.

I was just looking at the multivitamin I take and notices it has maltodextrin as an ingredient. Nutrilite Women's Pack is what I'm taking. It's an Amway brand.

I know that foods in the U.S. are required to say whether or not the maltodextrin is from wheat, but is the same true for vitamins? Do I need to call and ask if I want to know?

Thanks anyone who answers this. I was jsut curious, since if I end up with a gluten intolerance I'd like to limit it as much as possible obviously.

Maltodextrin should not be derived from wheat in the US, even though wheat is not required to be labeled in vitamins.

Most supplements do have a (800 #) that you can call. And I would encourage you to do so.

Welcome!


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just wanted to add that if you are working on getting tested for celiac do NOT go gluten free yet. False negatives are fairly common even on a full gluten diet and if you cut gluten out before testing your tests will likely be negative even if you are celiac.

Once your done with testing then do give the diet a try no matter what the test results.


Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002

Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis

All bold resoved or went into remission in time with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002

 Gene Test Aug 2007

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites