Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

kaygato

Maltodextrin In My Vitamins?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hello I'm new to food intolerances and paying attention to what I eat. I may have a gluten intolerance or some other food intolerances. I am working on getting tested.

I was just looking at the multivitamin I take and notices it has maltodextrin as an ingredient. Nutrilite Women's Pack is what I'm taking. It's an Amway brand.

I know that foods in the U.S. are required to say whether or not the maltodextrin is from wheat, but is the same true for vitamins? Do I need to call and ask if I want to know?

Thanks anyone who answers this. I was jsut curious, since if I end up with a gluten intolerance I'd like to limit it as much as possible obviously.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello I'm new to food intolerances and paying attention to what I eat. I may have a gluten intolerance or some other food intolerances. I am working on getting tested.

I was just looking at the multivitamin I take and notices it has maltodextrin as an ingredient. Nutrilite Women's Pack is what I'm taking. It's an Amway brand.

I know that foods in the U.S. are required to say whether or not the maltodextrin is from wheat, but is the same true for vitamins? Do I need to call and ask if I want to know?

Thanks anyone who answers this. I was jsut curious, since if I end up with a gluten intolerance I'd like to limit it as much as possible obviously.

Maltodextrin should not be derived from wheat in the US, even though wheat is not required to be labeled in vitamins.

Most supplements do have a (800 #) that you can call. And I would encourage you to do so.

Welcome!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just wanted to add that if you are working on getting tested for celiac do NOT go gluten free yet. False negatives are fairly common even on a full gluten diet and if you cut gluten out before testing your tests will likely be negative even if you are celiac.

Once your done with testing then do give the diet a try no matter what the test results.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...