Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

cgd

Tomato Paste--is It Ok?

Recommended Posts

When shopping for food today with my MIL, who often shops for my FIL who is also gluten-intolerant, she told me that tomato paste is unsafe on a gluten-free diet. What are your experiences with it? Is it thickened with wheat or wheat products? Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Guest nini

The tomato paste I usually use Del Monte brand I think... is just tomatoes, nothing else... I would think it depends on the brand.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The tomato paste I usually use Del Monte brand I think... is just tomatoes, nothing else... I would think it depends on the brand.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Wow, what a quick reply--I appreciate that! I thought paste was only tomatoes too, so maybe MIL is mistaken . . . I hope so anyhow. I went and bought some corn spaghetti at the store today, so we'll see how that goes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest nini

you probably won't be too excited with the corn spagetti, most people aren't. But if you can find Tinkyada Rice pasta, it is BY FAR the best gluten-free pasta on the market!

I just double checked Del Monte's website and ALL of their tomato products are Gluten Free as well as all of their canned fruits and vegetables, fruit cups and 100% Juices.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
you probably won't be too excited with the corn spagetti, most people aren't. But if you can find Tinkyada Rice pasta, it is BY FAR the best gluten-free pasta on the market!

I just double checked Del Monte's website and ALL of their tomato products are Gluten Free as well as all of their canned fruits and vegetables, fruit cups and 100% Juices.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Hmm, may have to mail-order the Tinkyada Rice pasta, as I didn't see it at Kroger; maybe the health food store has it, will check there . . .

I of course checked the list on the main website here of the safe and forbidden foods. I didn't see tomato paste on it, or any other ingredients in the Ragu sauce I love so much, so maybe it's OK. . .

Good deal--I love their canned fruits!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Always check the ingredients, but tomato paste should be nothing but tomatoes. You can make your own by blanching/peeling tomatoes, seeding them, and then cooking them down to a paste, but that's way more work than it's worth most of the time. ;-)


Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"

Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy

G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004

Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me

Bellevue, WA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Always check the ingredients, but tomato paste should be nothing but tomatoes.  You can make your own by blanching/peeling tomatoes, seeding them, and then cooking them down to a paste, but that's way more work than it's worth most of the time. ;-)

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I thought that was the case. Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Warning warning......Some tomato pastes DO have GLUTEN in them. I bought one awhile back. Always check. I use Ragu. Prego is great too. Tinkyada can is the best. Can't tell the difference between Tink and regular pastas. Nothing compares.


I believe in God.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Could you tell us which tomato paste it was so we knowm which one to avoid? This would be the first tomato paste with gluten I've ever heard of.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

huh... I've seen pasta sauces with gluten in them, but never a tomato paste. (Then again, I've never seen Ragu or Prego make tomato paste, so maybe I just haven't seen them...)


Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"

Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy

G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004

Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me

Bellevue, WA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tarnalberry, sorry, I was confusing there. I didn't mean Ragu and Prego made tomato paste. Just meant we use those spaghetti sauces.

I don't recall the brand of paste with gluten. I only remember opening a tiny can of paste about a year ago for chili and thought to myself I should read the ingredients *JUST TO BE SURE*....and was shocked that there was WHEAT in it. I remember because it was so unexpected. That's all I got!


I believe in God.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That was probably what I was using. It sounds just like me to put an Italian paste in Chili. I once put a big roast in a crockpot with Ketchup and A-1 sauce and Worstester sauce. I thought all of those things tasted good on meat. My sister said serving that to children bordered on child abuse. My gluten free child doesn't know how lucky he's been eating gluten free all these years! Ener-G bread ain't nothin compared to my cooking! ;)


I believe in God.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest kmmolina
Hmm, may have to mail-order the Tinkyada Rice pasta, as I didn't see it at Kroger; maybe the health food store has it, will check there  . . .

I of course checked the list on the main website here of the safe and forbidden foods.  I didn't see tomato paste on it, or any other ingredients in the Ragu sauce I love so much, so maybe it's OK.  . .

Good deal--I love their canned fruits!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

cgd...Tinkyada is very good. They have penne, macaroni, spegetti and several others. When my sister was diagnosed about 5 years ago and I remembered that most everything she tried was horrible..kind of mushy, etc. So when my mom bought the Tinkyada...I was a little bit on the negative side :angry: ....but to my surprise :o, it tasted just like regular wheat pasta. The only difference I noticed was the texture was a bit more chewy, but perhaps I needed to cook it longer.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Could you tell us which tomato paste it was so we knowm which one to avoid? This would be the first tomato paste with gluten I've ever heard of.

The Whole Foods brand tomato paste says it's manufactured in a facility that also processes things with milk and wheat in them. So in that case it's possible to have cross-contamination.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When shopping for food today with my MIL, who often shops for my FIL who is also gluten-intolerant, she told me that tomato paste is unsafe on a gluten-free diet. What are your experiences with it? Is it thickened with wheat or wheat products? Thanks!

I was at walmart shopping for tomato paste and many of the name brands had wheat in them. The walmart brand was the only one that had just tomato in it. Go figure.


Started on this journey w/ my 9 yr old son after a bout w/ the flu in the fall of 2009.

2 neg celiac blood tests, mine was also neg. No endo done. Son had x-ray, showing severe constipation. Son has latex allergy. KP for both of us.

Long family history of bowel problems, auto-immune and all sorts of cancers. My G-mother informed me that she was put on a gluten free diet after she had my mom (1950's), of course she stopped when she felt better. She has had problems ever since I can remember.

So here we are! I do have my son's Dr to thank for even bringing up celiac! Thank You Dr.B!

My adult daughter also has been helped by eating gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This topic is from almost five years ago, so much of the information in it may be out of date.

I was at walmart shopping for tomato paste and many of the name brands had wheat in them. The walmart brand was the only one that had just tomato in it. Go figure.

Would you please list for us the names of the brands that have wheat as an ingredient. I have never seen one in over nine years of reading labels as a celiac.

The Whole Foods brand tomato paste says it's manufactured in a facility that also processes things with milk and wheat in them. So in that case it's possible to have cross-contamination.

Products from shared facilities are common, and the risk of contamination is low. If you ever eat at a restaurant, that is a shared facility, and the dishes and utensils are shared equipment.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This topic is from almost five years ago, so much of the information in it may be out of date.

Would you please list for us the names of the brands that have wheat as an ingredient. I have never seen one in over nine years of reading labels as a celiac.

I only found one online- contadina italian w/herbs. I will check next time I go. Maybe it's just the ones with herbs.

Products from shared facilities are common, and the risk of contamination is low. If you ever eat at a restaurant, that is a shared facility, and the dishes and utensils are shared equipment.


Started on this journey w/ my 9 yr old son after a bout w/ the flu in the fall of 2009.

2 neg celiac blood tests, mine was also neg. No endo done. Son had x-ray, showing severe constipation. Son has latex allergy. KP for both of us.

Long family history of bowel problems, auto-immune and all sorts of cancers. My G-mother informed me that she was put on a gluten free diet after she had my mom (1950's), of course she stopped when she felt better. She has had problems ever since I can remember.

So here we are! I do have my son's Dr to thank for even bringing up celiac! Thank You Dr.B!

My adult daughter also has been helped by eating gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Products from shared facilities are common, and the risk of contamination is low. If you ever eat at a restaurant, that is a shared facility, and the dishes and utensils are shared equipment.

That depends on the facility and their manufacturing practices. I've eaten some products that have given me terrible reactions, most recently frozen spinach, and I later contacted the company and found out that their spinach is manufactured in a facility that also processes wheat. (They're probably packaged on shared equipment.)

So I don't think one can make the general statement that the risk of contamination is low. It really depends on the company, the manufactures, and even employees, to know how to avoid cross contamination issues.

If there are possibilities for cross-contamination, the most thorough companies do regular testing of their gluten free products to make sure they really are gluten free. Many companies don't do that however.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone happen to know if the little tins of "Maggi" Pasta de tomate are gluten free?  and while I am here asking, are the jars of Pesto, namely Cirio Pestp Gluten free too..thanks.


Diagnosed Ulcerative Colitis Feb 2014 (in remission)

Diagnosed Lichen Schlerosus May 2014

Diagnosed GERD Aug 2014  

Gluten free from Sept 2014

Dairy free from Dec 2014

Sulfite free from Sept 2015

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone happen to know if the little tins of "Maggi" Pasta de tomate are gluten free?  and while I am here asking, are the jars of Pesto, namely Cirio Pestp Gluten free too..thanks.

idk - what are the ingredients?  (this is a very old thread)  i use hunt's tomato paste with no problem BUT still read the label every time.  if you are outside north america, you might want to ask in the international section of the forum.


arlene

misdiagnosed for 25 years!
just as i was getting my affairs in order to die of malnutrition...
gluten free 7/2010
blood test negative
celiac confirmed by endoscopy 9/2010

 

only YOU can prevent forest fires - smokey t. bear

 

have a nice day :)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I used a couple of cans of Fire Roasted Diced tomatoes last week, and after I poured them in the pot, I read the label - and, yes, they contained gluten.  I can't remember the brand, but it was in a yellow can.  Ronzoni gluten-free pasts is also very good.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

idk - what are the ingredients?  (this is a very old thread)  i use hunt's tomato paste with no problem BUT still read the label every time.  if you are outside north america, you might want to ask in the international section of the forum.

Thanks everyone...I found some Hunts tomato paste in the supermarket so I think I will be okay with that..I'm in Costa Rica, some labelling is in Spanish, so its a bit tricky...another question if I may,I  looked online for info but not sure as two different opinions...can I use Achiote Paste or not...


Diagnosed Ulcerative Colitis Feb 2014 (in remission)

Diagnosed Lichen Schlerosus May 2014

Diagnosed GERD Aug 2014  

Gluten free from Sept 2014

Dairy free from Dec 2014

Sulfite free from Sept 2015

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Usually Achiote Paste is made from Spices.  Most Single Spices are gluten-free.  You would have to look at the actual ingredients to see if anything is added.  I do know that you can make your own blend.  There are recipes on the net.

 

Colleen


HAVE A SUPER SHINY DAY

 

LTES gem 2014


*Multiple AI Diseases

*General Insanity


"We cautiously travel through life to arrive safely at our death" - J. R. C. , my Son.

 

Are We There Yet? and Dad says...All you have to do it ride it out.

 

Comments/views/opinions expressed on the site are my own and are not representative of Forum Admin/Owner

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

 

smiley-face-making-cocktail.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites