anna34

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Rate this topic

So, I've tried baking chocolate chip cookies once before and they were not that great. They ended up quite crumbly and dry and a little too sweet. They were very granular in texture. I'd like to make a cookie that is either crunchy without being dry, or a chewy cookie. I'm new to this gluten-free baking thing, so any tips or recipe suggestions are appreciated! :)

Post your recipe and we can probably help. :) It's tough to get the right amount of butter, but I use 6 T of butter in my recipe, which I think has 2 C of flour. I'll have to double check it later. Also a little brown sugar helps add a bit of chew.

I have screwed up LOTS of choco chip cookies. LOTS! :lol:

OK, here it is. It's from Gluten Free on a Shoestring by Nicole Hunn.

8 tbsp unsalted butter

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1 tbsp vanilla

2 1/4 cups flour

1 1/4 tsp xanthan gum

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

chocolate chips

This is the recipe that I use, and they taste just like nestle cookies. Only difference is they came out a little flatter but when I put them in a tupperware container they stayed soft. They're really easy and delicious and my boyfriend couldn't tell the difference between these and my old gluten-filled cookies! He requested that I make them again this weekend. :D

Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

(I made a small batch but it's probably easier to double it)

1 1/8 cups Gluten-Free AP Flour

1/2 teaspoon gluten-free baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 (plus a little more) teaspoon xanthan gum

6 tbs butter softened

1/4 + 1/8 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1/4 cup sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup gluten-free semi-sweet chocolate chunks or chips (or 1/2 of a 12oz bag)

Heat oven to 325

OK, here it is. It's from Gluten Free on a Shoestring by Nicole Hunn.

8 tbsp unsalted butter

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1 tbsp vanilla

2 1/4 cups flour