RH1089

Still Issues After Going Gluten Free For 4.5 Months

Rate this topic

Hello Everyone! I am a 21 year-old college graduate who has been reading the threads on this forum since being diagnosed with celiac via blood test in January. On that same day I started a gluten free diet. Although my symptoms have improved, I am still not 100% better and I can't figure out why. I am sorry that this post is so long!

Prior to my diagnosis, I was eating crazy amounts of gluten, i.e. ramen noodles, Pizza Hut, processed foods that many college students eat without an issue. My symptoms did not arise until October 2010, which I believed was triggered by stress (I was working 3 jobs and had started my senior year!). Whenever I ate anything containing gluten I would become bloated and gassy (with a very noisy stomach!). Many times it would feel like the gas would get stuck and no matter how hard you tried to push, it would not come out. I would also either have diarrhea or would become constipated with only mucous coming out, but whether it was constipation or diarrhea I would have to go with a sense of urgency. It was somewhat disruptive for me especially when I was at work. When enough was enough, I decided to go to the gastroenterologist (sp?)and find out what was going on. That was when the doctor requested I have a blood test done (which ended up coming out positive for celiac disease).