Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
Boss'Wife

Just Diagnosed

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hi all I am from SE Ks and was just diagnosed last Tuesday with Celiac....Lets just say this first week has been rather difficult. Not sure what I can or can't eat or drink. I love Dr. Pepper but According to the food list I found I can't have carmel coloring ugh and it's in everything... Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dr. Pepper is gluten free. This is the info from their web site:

Q: Does Dr Pepper contain gluten?

A: All of our products are considered gluten-free. Note: All products, which contain High Fructose Corn Syrup, may contain trace amounts of corn gluten. According to the Celiac Sprue Association, corn gluten is not harmful to people with Celiac Sprue disease. We encourage consumers with specific questions about Celiac Sprue to contact the Celiac Sprue Association at www.csaceliacs.org.

So... if corn doesn't bother you, go ahead and drink Dr. Pepper.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

carmel coloring in the US doesn't contain gluten, It is one of those annoying myths. Envelope glue doesn't contain wheat, tea bags aren't sealed with wheat paste or any paste, etc.

I'm in the KC area/Johnson County. We have older liscense plates that have a wheat stalk on them. :angry:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

carmel coloring in the US doesn't contain gluten, It is one of those annoying myths. Envelope glue doesn't contain wheat, tea bags aren't sealed with wheat paste or any paste, etc.

All true. I'll add maltodextrin to the list of myths--its gluten-free for sure. And wine is safe, no matter how many times you hear the myth about how the barrels are sealed.

Welcome to our community. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh, and speaking of misinformation from old lists, vinegar (except for malt vinegar which will always be so described) and modified food starch are okay. The landscape changed over five years ago when FALCPA took effect. Wheat must now be explicitly declared and cannot be hidden. As a result, many ingredients on old lists are no longer a concern. Starch, when a single-word ingredient, is corn starch.

This is an old quoted post, but Laura's information is still spot on.

Unsafe ingredients: http://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsaf...ents/Page1.html

Safe ingredients: http://www.celiac.com/articles/181/1/Safe-...ents/Page1.html

A list of companies that has a clear gluten policy. If you don't see "wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, oats" on the labels, its not there, or hidden in "flavors, starches, etc." http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/index.htm This makes shopping MUCH easier.

FDA foods are required to list wheat - it cannot be hidden.

Rule #1: Never eat anything without reading the label first.

Rule #2: Consistently check labels, even of your favorite products, as product formulations can change.

Rule #3: If you are unsure of an ingredient, or the company's policy on labeling, call the phone number on the back of the product or email the company.

Hope this helps.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh, and speaking of misinformation from old lists, vinegar (except for malt vinegar which will always be so described) and modified food starch are okay. The landscape changed over five years ago when FALCPA took effect. Wheat must now be explicitly declared and cannot be hidden. As a result, many ingredients on old lists are no longer a concern. Starch, when a single-word ingredient, is corn starch.

This is an old quoted post, but Laura's information is still spot on.

This is all very well & Good but there is still a wheat stalk on my license plate!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

SERIOUSLY??!!! I've been avoiding tea from teabags for NOTHING???

This was a very good thread--the previous info I read (new to the gluten free diet) was outdated, apparently.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To help you with recipes google Stephanie O'Dea. She made one gluten-free recipe for 365 days while using her crockpot.

Paula

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is all very well & Good but there is still a wheat stalk on my license plate!

Okay, DO NOT eat your license plate. There are much better dietary sources of iron. :blink:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

carmel coloring in the US doesn't contain gluten, It is one of those annoying myths. Envelope glue doesn't contain wheat, tea bags aren't sealed with wheat paste or any paste, etc.

I'm in the KC area/Johnson County. We have older liscense plates that have a wheat stalk on them. :angry:

If it makes you feel any better license plates in Saskatchewan still sport several stalks of wheat!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome to our community!

I have joined a few of these support groups online, and it helps you feel not so alone. I drink mostly tea, water, nut milk, and clear sodas. All sodas should be fine however. Just some advice I wish so badly someone would have told me when I was first diagnosed.....get a really good fiber supplement. I get the kind that is fruit flavored and chewable. It is actually a nice treat everyday for me. Celiacs do not get the recommended amount of fiber as a result of our diet usually (No wheat, rye, oats, barley etc). The lack of fiber landed me in the hospital with an intestinal blockage about a year ago a few months after being diagnosed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×