This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

How To Get Relief From Itching?

Di2011

Di2011 Enthusiast

Hi all,

I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions to relieve my itching?

I am new to DH and tonight the itching is as bad as ever.

Thanks in advance,

Di

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

ndw3363 Contributor

I feel your pain - literally. Unfortunately there isn't a lot that can be done. I've noticed that the things that worked best for me were cold compresses and white vinegar. Only very temporary relief, but sometimes even 15 minutes without scratching can be a godsend. I would normally take a cold shower at night because mine was always worse in the evening. It does get better though. I've been gluten free for a few months and now only get a few random outbreaks that don't itch as bad. If you get it on your elbows like I did, keep them very moisturized - I found that helped a little and made the outbreaks heal faster. Good luck to you!!!

• 2 weeks later...
Newsy Rookie

Hello all, I am self-diagnosed, so take this for whatever it is worth.

I have finally scheduled a derm appt., for sometime in August. I have taken pics of my rash (es) in the unlikely event they are gone by the time my appt comes around. I researched the net & found a derm dr that I know is familiar with DH. Also, my mom, a 30+ yr, biopsied Celiac, asked her Dr. For a derm dr recommendation, and it is for the same dr., so we shall see. If I don't have DH, I will eat my hat.

Remember too, DH's other name, "D multiformis"...which more accurately describes my rashes.