Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
Lockheed

Cookie Crisps Going gluten-free?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

So my husband was at the store shopping yesterday (a rare occurance indeed) and he noticed that in Cookie Crisps there are no more gluten containing ingredients. It does still say "may contain gluten ingredients" I'm assuming because it's not being manufactured in the GM dedicated factory, but I'm wondering if this is the next cereal product for them to move over? I did eat a bowl last night and don't think I am having any issues but my symptoms are way more subtle than most celiac's so please don't take my word for it. I've just been so desperate for anything with chocolate that doesn't contain soy. But it looks as though they are using the same ingredients in the cookie crisps sprinkles.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What are the ingredients? I would be surprised if they did since "cookies" are usualy made from wheat flour but that would be nice to have another kids cereal option, wouldn't it?

BTW, I wanted to mention that Enjoy Life chocolate chips are awesome and they are soy free. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What are the ingredients? I would be surprised if they did since "cookies" are usualy made from wheat flour but that would be nice to have another kids cereal option, wouldn't it?

BTW, I wanted to mention that Enjoy Life chocolate chips are awesome and they are soy free. :)

No Kidding! I can't find the enjoy life chocolate chips in my area, but my local grocery store did start carrying their chocolate bars made from rice milk that do not have soy and I have been so happy!!

I'll type up the ingredients when I get home this evening.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Whole Grain Corn, Sugar, Brown Sugar, Corn Meal, Chocolate Flavored Chips (Sugar, Wheat Starch, Cocoa Processed With Alkali, Corn Starch, Yellow Corn Flour, Soybean Oil, Corn Syrup Solids, Salt, Dextrose, Baking Soda, Soy Lecithin, Distilled Monoglycerides, Chocolate Liquor, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Tricalcium Phosphate [Anticaking Agent]), Modified Corn Starch, Whole Grain Oats, Rice Bran and/or Canola Oil, Cocoa Processed With Alkali, Salt, Fructose, Tricalcium Phosphate, Corn Syrup, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Trisodium Phosphate. Vitamin E (Mixed Tocopherols) and Bht Added to Preserve Freshness. Vitamins and Minerals: Calcium Carbonate, Zinc and Iron (Mineral Nutrients), Vitamin C (Sodium Ascorbate), A B Vitamin (Niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine Hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (Thiamin Mononitrate), Vitamin A (Palmitate), A B Vitamin (Folic Acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D.

This is the ingredient list as it appears on Amazon. This shows wheat starch and oats so it wouldn't be gluten free unless this list is outdated.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No Kidding! I can't find the enjoy life chocolate chips in my area, but my local grocery store did start carrying their chocolate bars made from rice milk that do not have soy and I have been so happy!!

I'll type up the ingredients when I get home this evening.

If you have a store that carries their other products try askign them if they would be willing to start carrying the chocolate chips too. They probably will. I've been surprised at the number of times I have asked a store to start carrying something and a few weeks or months later the product was there on the shelves. It never hurts to ask anyway.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's the ingredients from the web page. They say "May contain Wheat" but don't list it as an ingredient. GM does seem to like to make things gluten-free, so maybe they are going in that direction with this cereal.

http://www.generalmills.com/Home/Brands/Cereals/Big%20G%20Cereals/Brand%20Product%20List%20Page.aspx

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's the ingredients from the web page. They say "May contain Wheat" but don't list it as an ingredient. GM does seem to like to make things gluten-free, so maybe they are going in that direction with this cereal.

http://www.generalmills.com/Home/Brands/Cereals/Big%20G%20Cereals/Brand%20Product%20List%20Page.aspx

We'll not be informing the kiddos on this one ;) Except now they're splashing 'GLUTEN FREE" all over the boxes so now the 5yo thinks he needs it all! We passed a small display of cereal treats at Target and he saw "GLUTEN FREE" across the middle of the Fruity Pebbles cereal treats. I bought them just for their field trips and told him not to expect it again anytime soon! He was very disappointed on how tiny they were...:P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×