Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Gluten Free Food Websites

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

My wife does not have Celiacs, but after ten years of being sick, she recently discovered that she is severely allergic to gluten along with eggs, dairy, beef, and various other items. We have found it very difficult to find foods that are gluten free, the other allergies are easy to avoid, but gluten seems to be in everything even if it is not listed on the ingredients. Does anyone know of any websites that have a list of everyday foods that contain gluten? I have found many websites for recipies, but it is the small snack food type items that she is having trouble with. For instance, she was starting to feel better and then fell back into her same routine of nausea and vomiting and we did not knonw why. To our surprise a simple snack food, hummus, contained gluten. She was eating that thinking that it was very safe when in fact it was making her body more and more sick until she could no longer keep food or water down and once again ended up in the hospital. if anyone knows of any websites that may help us determine what foods to stay away from, it would be extremely helpful. I do not want her to have to go through trial and error if it is at all avoidable.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites


I don't have a web site for you, and after eleven years gluten-free, I don't think that is the route to go.

Web sites may provide a starting point, but the definitive answer is on the label. Read the label. The package you have may be older, or newer, than the information on the web site, even if it is the manufacturers own web site.

In the US (and Canada), if wheat is a constituent of a product, it must be named as "wheat" either in the ingredient list or in an adjacent "contains" statement. Rye doesn't hide. Barley can legally be concealed in "flavors" but almost never is. Read the label.

Try these links for useful information:

Unsafe ingredients.

Safe ingredients.

Here's a list of companies that have a clear gluten policy. If you don't see "wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, oats" on the labels, its not there, or hidden in "flavors, starches, etc."

I am not a supporter of lists--they are out of date the minute that you print them. Formulas are constantly changing. That is why I like to buy from companies who will label clearly (see the third link above). Always read the label.

Did I remember to tell you to read the label? :o

Edited by psawyer
Add Canada to note about wheat on labels

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

When buying gluten-free look for products that state gluten-free on the labeling... If its states wheat free that does not make it gluten-free....many companies list on their lables so become a label reader... For instance Breyer's/ Dreyer's ice creams are gluten-free except for the ones that have cookies , crunchies & candy added to them...doritos & chips are clearly labeled ...

Not all hummus contain gluten..

Stay away from soy sauce, anything with malt... Lachoy has gluten-free soy sauce & Kikkoman clearly labeled on front of bottle...

Beer contains gluten but there are gluten-free beers...

contadina tomato products are gluten-free...

all heinz vinegar except the malt is gluten-free..

heinz ketsup is gluten-free except the organic one

Hellman's & miracle whip gluten-free

Progresso has many soups that are gluten-free( again labeled on back of can )...

cheese whiz gluten-free

there are tons of gluten-free products on store shelves.

It may be easier to give us ideas on what she likes to eat & we can lead her from there...

meats, veggies, & fruits, fish are all gluten-free in their natural state, no marinades, coatings, or sauces.... spice up at home using McCormick's spices ( again clearly labeled)...

She will need to stay clear of wheat, rye & barley...spelt,, farro & several others are cousin to the wheat family so again stay away from them...

Some flavored teas & coffee contain gluten...

This is just a tiny tiny hint of gluten-free... hth

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

I just wanted to say welcome to the forum. I am also severely allergic to wheat. I'm so sorry she (and you) are having a rough time adjusting to her new food restrictions.

The others have given really good advice. I can't think of anything to add.

Do you have a whole food grocery near you? They carry a ton of gluten free foods.

I tend to eat things that are naturally gluten free, whole foods, in their natural form. I hope you adjust and things get better. (((((hugs))))

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now