pieman

Advice On A Flour Recipe , Please

Rate this topic

Hi, I'm new to gluten free and I am trying out different flour mixes for baking because it's much cheaper than any of the premade flour mixes. I wanted some suggestions on the best ratio to use in a rice flour/maize flour/potato starch combination (these are the only grains I can get in bulk where I am in new zealand) I was going to try a 2:2:1 mix but is this too much potato starch? Cheers very much.

Hi, I'm new to gluten free and I am trying out different flour mixes for baking because it's much cheaper than any of the premade flour mixes. I wanted some suggestions on the best ratio to use in a rice flour/maize flour/potato starch combination (these are the only grains I can get in bulk where I am in new zealand) I was going to try a 2:2:1 mix but is this too much potato starch? Cheers very much.

First of all, Welcome! I agree that it's tough to find a *perfect* flour mix and it's definitely cheaper to mix your own. I think every cookbook author has their own mix/mixes. Here's a link that gives the recipe for Jules Shepard's Nearly Normal Flour mix, which does include corn flour (maize). I don't know if that would work for you.

Can you get tapioca flour/starch or cornstarch? They're pretty easy to come by here in the U.S. but I don't know about N.Z. Hopefully someone from N.Z. will chime in with what they use.

ETA: Your flour/starch ratio sounds too heavy on the flour and too light on the starches, which are usually a mix of starches, not just one.

Edited by sa1937