Katrala

Reflections Of 3 Months Gluten-Free

Rate this topic

So I'm hitting my 3-month gluten-free mark. Go me.

Quick background. Started having problems August 2010. Lost 70 pounds between then and April of 2011, when I had a positive Celiac test. Endoscopy later that month came back positive as well for Celiac. GI told me he'd like to see me gain 10 pounds in 3 months, which I accomplished just this week.

I've been a lurker on several gluten-free sites and have read several books over the past few months. While I'm by no means an expert, I am light years ahead of where I was 3 months ago. Here are some observations that I've made from interactions with other people (both in person and online.)

• While initially excited to see so many gluten-free foods, it's much simpler and cheaper to make your own of just about everything

• The gluten-free fad seems to be doing more harm than good to people who have to truly follow the diet

• "Gluten" and "Glucose" sound too similar

• Reminding myself that I can have wine, popcorn, and chocolate really helps on bad days

• I wish people would stop associating every little stomach pain and other issue(s) with gluten. Maybe you just have a simple stomach ache. Maybe you're just having an off day. It happens to everyone - celiacs and non-celiacs.

• When I meet another person with celiac, they want to talk to me about their GI issues. Just because we both have celiac doesn't meant I want to hear about your most recent bowel movement

• Making gluten-free bread isn't as easy as I first thought. I could make some serious money selling gluten-free bricks and doorstops.

• "I spilled your new bag of Xanthum Gum" isn't my husband's best attempt at humor.

• Celiac Disease seems to attract hypochondriacs - especially the ones who think they have every disease in the world and when they are actually diagnosed with something, wear it like a medal.

• Social settings that are centered around food typically suck.