Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hi there :)

I live in Ontario, Canada and I just bought Super Fudge ice cream bars by Chapman's, a Canadian Ice Cream company. It is clearly marked on the box that the product is gluten free and in the ingredients list it has malt extract (gluten free) written exactly as I wrote it here (the gluten free is in brackets right after malt extract).

I was so excited to find fudge bars that are gluten free that I bought them and ate one for dessert. The problem now is that I know malt extract is not normally gluten free and now I'm worried that I'm going to get sick. Is it possible that the malt extract is gluten free?

Thanks for any advise that you can provide.

:)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just a guess but if it says Gluten Free after malt extract, I suspect that the extract may not come from Barley. perhaps they can get it from sorghum or another grain that does not give us problems. Can you call the factory and find out? Kind of hard to do from Hawaii!

Thanks

Hi there :)

I live in Ontario, Canada and I just bought Super Fudge ice cream bars by Chapman's, a Canadian Ice Cream company. It is clearly marked on the box that the product is gluten free and in the ingredients list it has malt extract (gluten free) written exactly as I wrote it here (the gluten free is in brackets right after malt extract).

I was so excited to find fudge bars that are gluten free that I bought them and ate one for dessert. The problem now is that I know malt extract is not normally gluten free and now I'm worried that I'm going to get sick. Is it possible that the malt extract is gluten free?

Thanks for any advise that you can provide.

:)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have seen rice malt syrup. Ask the company?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for your help guys, I'll call on Monday. I'm pretty sure they should be safe, just a little worried. I'll post their response.

Thanks again!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Anything can be malted. Barley is the most common, which is why malt is on the avoid list. But if it specifically states that the malt is gluten-free I would accept that. As Karen said, rice is a possible gluten-free source of malt. It could also be corn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would definately call and find out what the malt extract is made of.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are you sure the box was marked gluten free? According to Chapman's website, those bars are nut free, but NOT gluten free. If the package really is labelled gluten free then I think they made a labelling error, and should be reported to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (if they really are labelled gluten-free).

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good morning.

I called Chapman's Ice Cream this morning and asked about the malt extract. The lady said that it is derived from molasses and is totally gluten-free.

I'm very happy :D

Thanks to all that responded!

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×