Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Marley25

What Liquors Can I Have?

Recommended Posts

I am going to Vegas for my birthday. I am not a big party girl, however I would like to have a few fun drinks. What kind I have? All I have been drinking since being diagnosed is Cupcake Wine. I love it but I was wondering what other liquors can I have?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


My friends here know that I enjoy a Beefeater traditional martini, but I am currently sipping Bacardi Gold on the rocks. I am unaware of any distilled spirit that contains detectable levels of gluten, although some of us seem to react to the fragments of protein that make it through the distillation process.

I have heard, but not confirmed, that some single malt scotches contain gluten due to some mash being added back into the distillate for flavor. It isn't something I worry much about.

It's not liquor technically, but wine is gluten-free. Don't believe the rumors about paste in the kegs or clarifying agents. The finished wine tests gluten-free in every case.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

he only liquors I have had a problem with (not that I have tried them all.....) are the sour mash bourbons such as Jack Daniels and Jim Beam. I think that is just my own peculiar system and not a problem with gluten.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites