Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
jebby

Breyer's Ice Cream

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I have been eating Breyer's chocolate and vanilla ice cream over the past week, and keep feeling like I am getting cross-contaminated with gluten. I have not eaten any other new foods. I have been able to eat both of these flavors in the past without a problem, the last time was probably 3 to 4 months ago. I am also able to ingest dairy/lactose without a problem.

Has anyone else had a problem with Breyer's ice cream recently? Per their website, they do not have a "gluten free" list, but Unilever will clearly disclose any sources of gluten. There is no mention of whether or not cross-contamination is a possibility. I'm just curious if anyone else is feeling unwell after eating this ice cream.

Thanks!

J

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are you sure you are not latose or casean intollerant. I can no longer eat Ice Cream because I felt like I was cross contiminated but it was the milk allergy that got me sick. Now I can have a very little bit every so often but thats it. I miss ice cream. You can easily get tested for other food allergies. Just an idea, hope it helps a bit.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am pretty sure I am not lactose intolerant because I drink milk and eat cheese and yogurt without a problem. I have also eaten other types of ice cream recently without a problem. Thank you for the idea though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't have trouble with Breyer's, but I ended up switching to Chapman's anyway because they label them directly as GLUTEN-FREE, which makes me feel better. I'm sorry you're having a tough time! If you don't have trouble digesting dairy normally, maybe it's the type of ice cream itself, like in the flavour that's causing you issues?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I used to eat it all the time til I found Talenti Gelato. OMG.

It's labeled gluten-free.

I don't think I had a problem with Breyers, just didn't want corn syrup.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

could be something they put in the icecream as well.

Yup. They do put this "tara" gum into it.

http://adailyscoop.com/2006/09/11/breyers-natural-ice-cream-and-tara-gum-unilevers-response/#comments

I wonder if they bumped the gum content up a bit to be able to add more air to the product.

I was eating this other "organic" brand for awhile, and then they started putting tapioca in it. And this was some expensive $$$ all natural blah blah brand to begin with. I can't take much tapioca, and I'm not paying primo just so they can make their ice cream gummier with tapioca filler, so, buh - bye.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you. I think that this must be the answer and it was interesting to read other's comments about their reactions to tara gum in the link you provided. I am positive that there was not tara gum added to Breyer's ice cream when I had eaten it in the past. Now it all makes sense....I know that my body does not tolerate tara gum.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×