Homefiresburning

Possible Celiac In 9 Year Old

Rate this topic

I am a newbie to all of this and wanted to get some opinions from btdt parents.

Dd will be 9 in 2 weeks. She currently weighs less than 45 lbs, 5 lbs below the 5th percentile for her age. The doc doesn't seem too worried. We've never had any blood tests, aside from normal anemia testing (which was okay this last time). She has always been small, but keeps falling further off the charts. She was 6lbs 9 oz at birth, 19 lbs at a year and 24 lbs at 2, so small, but not off the charts. My other 2 girls are above the 90th percentile for height and weight. My 6 yr old is almost 15 lbs heavier than my almost 9 yr old. My husband is short but broad and I'm tall and big boned. Neither of us have tiny family members. I'm rather shocked that the doc isn't even concerned.

Dd isn't a wonderful eater. She really just wants to eat bread and cheese. We make her eat other things, but given the choice, she'd stick with those options. She will eat fruits and veggies and eats 3-4 servings a day of each. She is always constipated, though. Fiber tablets haven't seemed to help.

She also has a diagnosis of asperger's syndrome. We have behavioral and focus difficulties due to this. Her complexion is extremely pale with dark circles under her eyes at all times. People always think she is sick. She is now having headaches nearly every day, complaining that her eyes hurt along with them. She has difficulty sleeping which has been helped by adding melatonin, but she often wakes in the middle of the night and cannot get back to sleep.

So, my question is whether this sounds like it could be celiac? I feel like we have some nutritional issues, but no idea where to start. Allergist or gi? Doc hasn't even mentioned either. She has mentioned a neurologist for the headaches. How in the world do I find out what is going on? Why the heck is my kid so small? We have a 4k deductible, which throws a wrench in there too. Ugh!