This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

How Long To Persist With gluten-free Trial?

simon70

simon70 Newbie

I don't have a positive diagnosis, but many of the symptoms and risk factors for celiac disease (e.g. I'm hypothyroid), and I have been trialling a strict gluten-free diet for 3 months. The signs are mixed: I haven't experienced any improvement in energy levels (I have chronic fatigue) or in my excessive mucus production and sinus problems (which have been plaguing me for 10 years). But my stools look much healthier (before they were always extremely loose and difficult to flush, now they look normal and don't stain the toilet bowl!). And I don't think I've had a single migraine since I changed my diet, which is almost a record. So do I persist, and if I do, can I hope to feel some improvement in the other areas?

Also, could I perform a little experiment? If I really am gluten intolerant, then I ought to be especially sensitive to it now that I've been gluten-free for a while, right? So what if I deliberately 'gluten' myself one day soon - what are the symptoms I should look out for that would confirm that I'm on the right track? Or would you leave it much longer than 3 months before trying this?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Marilyn R Community Regular

I share in your happiness that you aren't having migranes anymore and that your digestive problems seem to be resolving.

For me, it took a solid 18 months to really feel better. Other people feel better much sooner.