This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Guests Who Ask For My Food

Finally-45

Finally-45 Contributor

I'm new to this and I was recently diagnosed. Like you, I discovered that the gluten-free products can be expensive. I'm a wimp when it comes to cooking, so the ready-made stuff is appealing. When you have company over and they ask to eat your food, is it polite to decline and explain that you want to keep as many gluten-free options around as possible, to avoid being tempted by the non-gluten free stuff the rest of the family eats? Does it matter if the guest is a child? Should I just hide all of my stuff before people come over?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

pricklypear1971 Community Regular

Hide your stuff or learn how to cook.

shadowicewolf Proficient

Hide it or learn to cook like Pear says :( really thats all there is to it.

glutentheintolerant Rookie

Well, here's what I'd do:

If you can't do either, I'd tell them it's medicinal food. They wouldn't be sharing their heart pills either, would they? Not even to 'try it out'. It's pricey, it's specialized and it's there for a reason. People should just respect that if there are alternatives available.

If it isn't tagged as 'gluten-free' but it's simply gluten-free because it hasn't been processed (Like an apple or whatever) I wouldn't raise any objections. After all, celiacs and non-celiacs alike pay the same price for those foods everywhere and they're also available for both to eat.

If your quests are on a gluten-free diet, the choice is obvious. (Share your gluten-free food.)