This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New To Gluten Free Lifestyle

Ramfan

Ramfan Newbie

I am new to gluten free lifestyle but not new to the discomfort I have been dealing with for the past 10 years +. Just a brief history, had surgery for GERD and still had issues with my stomach afterwards. A few months after my surgery, I went to see my GI because not all my symptoms were alleviated, was told I had IBS and I changed my diet but saw no change, actually thought my problem increased. The last time I saw the GI was early this summer and was told that I might have an emptying issue and had a test performed but was told that I just needed to stay away from foods that caused bloating and the other issues I have been dealing with for years. Finally my primary informed me that I might be one of those individuals who tests negative and we tried another test in which I tested positive. As a side note, that week ran into an individual who told me they knew what I was going through because they had the same problem 10 years ago. Since starting a gluten-free diet, there is a major difference but when I ingest something with hidden gluten; sometimes reaction time happens within an hour, while other times it can take hours but the end results are the same. I have so many questions but first I would like to know if there is a relationship with food dyes. If there is a relationship, which food dyes should one avoid.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Ramfan Newbie

Forgot to add that three years ago was diagnosed with tumid lupus.

eatmeat4good Enthusiast