Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

GFreeMO

Rice Krispies Gluten Free

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I think I did the first time I tried them :( I have another box though and I'm trying to work up the courage to test again to make sure it wasn't something else. I'll be watching this thread to see if anyone else reports having issues with them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks....I guess its the Lactaid milk........again...Gosh, dairy is so much harder to give up than gluten for me! I got bloating, gas and a headache...I thought Lactaid was suppose to help so I guess it really is casein. BUMMER! AGH.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks....I guess its the Lactaid milk........again...Gosh, dairy is so much harder to give up than gluten for me! I got bloating, gas and a headache...I thought Lactaid was suppose to help so I guess it really is casein. BUMMER! AGH.

I agree with you...I miss dairy more than I miss gluten. :(

I use So Delicious Coconut Milk---very tasty!! :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree with you...I miss dairy more than I miss gluten. :(

I use So Delicious Coconut Milk---very tasty!! :)

I'm with you! My 3 year old son is gluten free, limited dairy and I find the dairy so much harder to work around!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry to burst your bubble but Rice Crispies have Malt in them and in Canada they have Barley and Malt so they are not considered Gluten Free, although it is probably a very small amount of it; it is still considered to contain gluten.....BUT they now make gluten free rice crispies information on that is on the thread below :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry to burst your bubble but Rice Crispies have Malt in them and in Canada they have Barley and Malt so they are not considered Gluten Free, although it is probably a very small amount of it; it is still considered to contain gluten.....BUT they now make gluten free rice crispies information on that is on the thread below :)

Gluten Free Rice Krispies are now available in the US. There are no plans by Kelloggs, at this point, to bring the product to the Canadian market.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gluten Free Rice Krispies are now available in the US. There are no plans by Kelloggs, at this point, to bring the product to the Canadian market.

I've tried them. My problem is that they just don't taste very good--not like real Rice Krispies. I think that perhaps it's because they use brown rice instead of white rice. Somehow everyone who manufactures gluten free products (with the exception of God bless 'em General Mills with their Chex line) seems to think that we're all health food nuts who want bland tasting "natural" cerials that taste worse than the stuff I feed my horse. I had high hopes for these but unfortunately Kellogs has not come through.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've tried them. My problem is that they just don't taste very good--not like real Rice Krispies. I think that perhaps it's because they use brown rice instead of white rice. Somehow everyone who manufactures gluten free products (with the exception of God bless 'em General Mills with their Chex line) seems to think that we're all health food nuts who want bland tasting "natural" cerials that taste worse than the stuff I feed my horse. I had high hopes for these but unfortunately Kellogs has not come through.

I have tried the gluten free Rice Krispies...I had MAJOR issues after eating .  I'm wondering about cross-contamination with barley/malt, as I am more sensitive to barley than to wheat.......

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i just looked this up (plain rice krispies - kelloggs website) because they are now running a commercial ad that says the only thing rice krispies contains is rice.  i thought it used to contain barley malt.  the ingredients on the website currently lists 'malt flavor' - - - - ?  WHAT DOES THAT MEAN? 

 

lolz - they use 'carmine' to color red cherries in canned fruit cocktail - i looked it up because i wanted to be sure it was ok.  and, YAY!  carmine is gluten free!  it is also made of CRUSHED UP BUG BODIES.....  so, it's safe to eat but now i don't want to....  ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've tried them. My problem is that they just don't taste very good--not like real Rice Krispies. I think that perhaps it's because they use brown rice instead of white rice. Somehow everyone who manufactures gluten free products (with the exception of God bless 'em General Mills with their Chex line) seems to think that we're all health food nuts who want bland tasting "natural" cerials that taste worse than the stuff I feed my horse. I had high hopes for these but unfortunately Kellogs has not come through.

I second this.  If I wanted them made of brown rice, I'd have gotten the nasty Erewhon ones.  They don't taste like the originals, they don't crunch like the originals.  You can use them for rice krispie treats, but they're not much good in a bowl with milk.  Yuk.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i just looked this up (plain rice krispies - kelloggs website) because they are now running a commercial ad that says the only thing rice krispies contains is rice.  i thought it used to contain barley malt.  the ingredients on the website currently lists 'malt flavor' - - - - ?  WHAT DOES THAT MEAN? 

 

lolz - they use 'carmine' to color red cherries in canned fruit cocktail - i looked it up because i wanted to be sure it was ok.  and, YAY!  carmine is gluten free!  it is also made of CRUSHED UP BUG BODIES.....  so, it's safe to eat but now i don't want to....  ;)

yep, we found out that Yoplait yogurt has the crushed bugs ewwwww

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have tried the gluten free Rice Krispies...I had MAJOR issues after eating .  I'm wondering about cross-contamination with barley/malt, as I am more sensitive to barley than to wheat.......

 

 

The G F Rice Krispies are  NOT CROSS CONTAMINATED.

I eat them sometimes and I would feel it, believe me. 

 

THEIR WEBSITE: "We produce it in a separate facility and test each batch to make sure that it’s gluten-free".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I eat gluten-free Rice Krispies as part of my breakfast food rotation, and have never had a problem. There were so many years that I did not eat Rice Krispies due to the barley, that I honestly don't remember the original ones well enough to make a comparison. But I like the gluten-free ones. I also eat Rice Chex and Corn Chex (for the latter, I stock up whenever I am south of the border).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Trying to figure out what zapped me. Anyone had any issues with the gluten free rice krispies?

I have them here in Michigan and been fine, and I'm sensitive. What I have struggles with are the gluten-free Chex.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...