Pedrose

Help With Interpreting 3 Y.o. Results

Rate this topic

Hi. I am a newbie but everyone on this forum seems so friendly I thought I would ask for help. My 3 y.o. son (a non-identical twin) has always had GI issues. The paediatrician ran a series of tests and has diagnosed my son as coeliac off the back of these. I refused a biopsy and she said "I believe it would come back positive anyway." I am after a second opinion on his results because we are moving soon and it could take weeks to find a new Paed.

Coeliac Serology:

Gliadin IgA Abs 3 U/mL

tTG IgA/IgG *41 U/mL

Coeliac Disease: HLA DR & DQ Association

Genotype susceptible for coeliac disease detected. Heterozygous for the .... haploytype, which is consisten with the DQ2 phenotype.

I also wonder about having my other 3 kids tested, especially my 5 year old who is extremely skinny and has had behavioural problems since the age of 18 months.

Thanks I will really value your input.

Pedrose, sorry you haven't gotten a response to your message yet. Did your dr. run a complete celiac panel or are those two results the only things? If so, it's incomplete. Plus you need to give reference ranges for those readings as they vary from lab to lab.

Personally I'm not knowledgeable of gene testing but they're in no way diagnostic for celiac. And children are difficult to diagnose.

Hopefully someone will chime in to give you a better understanding but I wanted to at least give you a response to your post.

Thanks Sylvia. The only tests the Dr ran were coeliac serology (results listed above), HLA DR & DQ Association (results listed above), a faeces examination, and faecal occult blood which was negative. What other tests make up the full panel? I am really confused now and looking forward to finding a new paediatrician when we move. I do not know the labs markers as patients are not privy to that information. I am in Australia if this makes any difference.