Austin Guy

Sensitive To Everything And Will Be Traveling - Need Advice

Rate this topic

I am still relatively new to the gluten free lifestyle and am finding many other food intolerances. I am going to take a ski vacation in February and am trying to figure out what I can eat. Here is what I know I can't have:

gluten

soy

corn

rice

lactose

tree nuts (nasty allergy)

salmon (another nasty allergy)

eggs

nightshades

I'm still wondering about peanuts and other legumes, but have not tested them yet.

Any thoughts on what I should eat while gone? I am also concerned about using the same kitchen as 15 other people.

The first thing that popped into my mind was Rutabega soup. Sounds like you're sharing a house?

My neighbor turned me on to this shortly after I was sensitive to everything. You chop up an onion (shared stainless steel pans should be okay, you just might want to wash them yourself before using.) Saute the onion in olive or other safe oil. Peel and chop 1-2 rutabega into 3/4" pieces. Toss in the pot. Add about 4-6 cups water. Add a couple of thick sliced carrots if you wish. Then add some chopped safe ham. (I like Jones brand.) After bringing to a boil, cook over ML heat until the rutabega is done, about 30-40 minutes. Season to taste with s&p. Love this soup.

I was thinking of something you could safely heat up in the microwave. Sometimes I have it for breakfast. This makes a big pot of soup.

Microwaved sweet potatoes or white potatoes. Hormel corned beef hash is gluten-free SF and pretty tasty if you cook it crispy. I don't think there's any nightshades in it.

Get those little individual servings of fruit and/or applesauce.

You're going to need protein if you're skiing, so get pork chops and steaks. I hope everyone will be respectful of your diet, and not use or eat your food. I've only done group outings with family and they treat my food like it's the holy grail. (Because they knew how sick I'd been.)