Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
ScarlettsMommy

Cant Find Out If My Fav Alcohol Is gluten-free

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

It might help if I knew what was all in it lol. My fav drink are the jolly rancher mixed drinks. Me and my husband went out last night and I had 2 of them, but Im still new to this and its only been 2 days since ive been on this diet for my celiac, so i wouldnt know if i was glutened right away or not. I know there is pucker in it (i think sour apple) and I know for sure some kind of juice (cranberry maybe) and then some places put sweet sour mix in them. Are those ingredients safe? Thanks. Oh and I know Dekuyper makes the pucker but there are no ingredients listed on their page.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes,it helps to know what's in the drink you are worried about. :lol: I've never seen gluten in sweet and sour mix or fruit juice. Your bartender would probably be happy to show you the label on the sweet and sour mix or tell you what's in it if they make it.

Flavored alcohols like schnapps and liquers are usually safe. They are flavored grain neutral spirits. Once grains are distilled, the gluten is below detectable limits and only bothers the most sensitive of celiacs. Gluten would creep in if there is any malt in the flavorings, and while I haven't run across malt in a liquer it's always better to write the company and make sure.

Alcohols you must avoid include beer, malt liquor, and all the various coolers that contain malt liquor like Bartles and Jaymes, Jack Daniels Country Cocktails, Zima, Mike's Hard Lemonade, and so forth. Also always check cider labels for malt flavoring.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When you get an answer about gluten from Dekuyper, please share it with the board. Up-to-date info is so nice to have. B)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have had bartenders warn me against sweet and sour mixes. Not all, but some.

Also, I've found any frozen blended drink is generally not gluten-free if they use a mix. I loved this hurricane thing at The Ritz Carlton but the bartender nixed it this year when I told him gluten-free. I've had similar results asking about frozen margaritas, daiquiris, etc.

I've developed a love for martinis (lemon drop, cosmo) and vodka presses. And bourbon on the rocks with a splash of water.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have had bartenders warn me against sweet and sour mixes. Not all, but some.

Also, I've found any frozen blended drink is generally not gluten-free if they use a mix. I loved this hurricane thing at The Ritz Carlton but the bartender nixed it this year when I told him gluten-free. I've had similar results asking about frozen margaritas, daiquiris, etc.

I've developed a love for martinis (lemon drop, cosmo) and vodka presses. And bourbon on the rocks with a splash of water.

Sweet and sour mix is usually lemon juice with sugar or simple syrup. How do they get gluten in that? :blink: Are you sure they know what gluten means and didn't think it was glucose?

I'd be wanting to know what gluten ingredient in the frozen daquiris too. The only thing I can think of is malt, but that's relatively unusual because it's expensive.

Bloody marys are a big gluten "gotcha" becasue so many of the mixes have soy sauce. (grumble)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yea i need to find out about the mix...but I did send an email to Dekuyper

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sweet and sour mix is usually lemon juice with sugar or simple syrup. How do they get gluten in that? :blink: Are you sure they know what gluten means and didn't think it was glucose?

Bloody marys are a big gluten "gotcha" becasue so many of the mixes have soy sauce. (grumble)

I have no idea, but if they tell me no then I don't drink it. I have seen some pretty strange stuff in bar mixes in retail stores so who knows.

I have noticed places with really good and strong drinks are ok, places with crappy, weak margaritas are usually not which leads me to believe what is being served (from placescthat say it contains gluten) is premixed to the nth degree.

And I may add that in az sometimes a weak frozen margarita is a good thing in the summer when you'd like to bathe in an ice bath.

I've also been told that they don't know WHAT is in the mix - "it just arrives". So, to be safe they advise not drinking it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That makes sense. Agreed if they haven't a clue what's in a mix I'm not drinking it! :blink:

I mostly stick to simple drinks. Scotch, gin & tonic, martinis, cider, (my favorite Magner's and Strongbow are gluten-free) or a glass of wine.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi there,

The ingredients of a Jolly Rancher are Smirnoff vodka, Midori liqueur, and cranberry juice. Smirnoff Vodka is a gluten free vodka, and I can drink this with no problem, and I am particularly sensitive. Midori Liquer is a 40 proof Liquer made from mellons. You should be ok drinking this drink, provided that the vodka is a gluten free or potato vodka. Potato vodkas include Taaka. Ciroc is a vodka made of grape. Kettle one is made of wheat, but is gluten free from the way it is distilled.

As a fan of the cocktail in my quest of gluten free nirvana and imbibing without regret, I stumbled upon a book called Vintage Spirits and Forgotten Cocktails, available on Amazon and in Kindle format. This book is filled with numerous recipes that are gluten free by nature, because distilleries before Prohibition used ingredients other than wheat, which is what was produced after Prohibition because of the high demand, little product, and the ability to make mass quantities of it quickly and cheaply. This book will help educate you on types of alcohol, how they are made, and give you some super elegant alternatives to the typical cocktail that are delicious and gluten free too!

Cheers!!

quote name='ScarlettsMommy' timestamp='1323547644' post='755533']

It might help if I knew what was all in it lol. My fav drink are the jolly rancher mixed drinks. Me and my husband went out last night and I had 2 of them, but Im still new to this and its only been 2 days since ive been on this diet for my celiac, so i wouldnt know if i was glutened right away or not. I know there is pucker in it (i think sour apple) and I know for sure some kind of juice (cranberry maybe) and then some places put sweet sour mix in them. Are those ingredients safe? Thanks. Oh and I know Dekuyper makes the pucker but there are no ingredients listed on their page.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×