Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Cashe2

Question About My Protein Powder

Recommended Posts

My protein powder is listed on the package as gluten free. However listed in the ingredients are wheat grass and barley grass. I am very new to gluten free eating so I emailed them and asked them how it can be gluten free with these 2 ingredients. Their reply was "Gluten is only found in the grain and the grass is harvested prior to the grain forming. The criteria for a products to be deemed gluten free is that it cannot contain 20ppm or more of gluten. Our product tested at less at 20 ppm"

So, my question is can one have a gluten reaction to something that tests less than 20 ppm?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Yes. Watch out for those ingredients in supplements also. If you haven't opened the package you may want to return it for a powder that doesn't have either of those.


Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002

Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis

All bold resoved or went into remission in time with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002

 Gene Test Aug 2007

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites