Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Food Colorings

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I'm working on Christmas cookies and am ready to frost them and realized I haven't researched food colorings very well yet. I have McCormick food coloring- just the regular package of red/blue/green/yellow drops to add to the frosting. I know their seasonings are good, so am I safe with the food coloring also? I also have a couple of colors of Wilton that's more of a gel. The label on the gel food coloring says it's processed in a facility that also produces wheat products :( I was hoping to use the gel but I probably shouldn't.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

There is a discussion of food colorings on gluten free faces (I tried to link it but it would not work.)

Looks like The McCormick ones are safe.

McCormick Response:

Thank you for taking the time to contact us. We appreciate your interest

in our Assorted Food Color (Four Pack) and welcome the opportunity to be of

assistance to you.

McCormick Food Colors are gluten free.

We are aware of special allergies and intolerances to certain ingredients

such as the following:

Peanuts Fish Soy proteins Sulfites

Tree nuts Eggs Wheat proteins Yellow No. 5 & 6

Shellfish Milk Red Pepper

As a responsible food company, McCormick follows the U.S. Food Drug &

Cosmetic Act regulations to ensure consumer safety concerning food

allergens. We declare these ingredients on our label in the ingredient

statement. Federal regulations require us to list sulfites if they are

over 10 parts per million, so we use that as our label declaration limit.

If a product does not have an ingredient statement, it is a pure spice or

herb with nothing added and is gluten free. In addition, the alcohol in

all of our extracts does not come from grain and is gluten free.

Because we are constantly improving our products, we do not offer a list of

our products that do not currently contain glutens. We encourage you to

read the ingredient statement on your package at the time of purchase to

ensure accurate, up to date information.

In addition, we follow good manufacturing practices at our plants. Our

employees are trained in the importance of correct labeling and the

necessity of performing thorough equipment wash-downs to eliminate

cross-contact of ingredients.

Although we cannot guarantee our products to be 100% free of allergens not

listed on the label, we want you to know that we take this situation

seriously and have taken extra precautions to eliminate the possibility of

mislabeling or cross-contact.

We invite you to sign up from our website to be a regular "My McCormick"

user and receive our online newsletter with recipes and cooking tips.

If we can be of further assistance, please call us at 1-800-632-5847,

Monday through Friday, 9:30AM to 5PM Eastern Time. If you wish to respond

to this note by e-mail, please include your name and e-mail address.

We hope to have the continued pleasure of serving you.


Carolyn Stone

Consumer Affairs Specialist

Ref # 618614

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know of any food colors anywhere that have gluten.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now