Jump to content
  • Sign Up
Celiac.com Sponsor:


Celiac.com Sponsor:

Anya78

Brianna's Salad Dressing Gf?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I'm trying to identify the source of a reaction. Does anyone know if Brianna's French Vinaigrette salad dressing is gluten-free? Or does anyone have it nearby and they could tell me the phone number on the package to call for info? (I have it at home, but I'm at work). Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, bl0nde said:

the company claims its gluten free on their website, but i react to it. must be the rice wine vinegar. 

If you have a problem with rice - that wouldn't be a gluten issue.  I love their dressings and do well with them.  Looking at the ingredients - it looks like they use apple cider vinegar.

Edited by kareng

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, bl0nde said:

rice wine vinegar contains barley, which is not gluten free. this is a very common mistake people make. rice wine vinegar is NOT safe for celiacs. 

Which flavor has " rice wine vinegar"? Neither of the two that said " French" contains rice wine vinegar.   

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, bl0nde said:

rice wine vinegar contains barley, which is not gluten free. this is a very common mistake people make. rice wine vinegar is NOT safe for celiacs. 

Maybe you mean malt vinegar?  The kind you have with Fish and chips?  Malt  vinegar is not gluten free and is based on barley.   It is fermented instead of distilled.  

If it were me, I would probably react to the additive Xanthan Gum.  Just a personal intolerance of mine.  So, I avoid commercially processed dressings.  Hubby can consume them without issue.  

Oh, my cousin got glutened by a salad dressing.  Same flavor and bottle type but different brand.  The new one was not gluten free.  Now she always read the labels, even if she has to put on her reading  glasses to do it in the store!  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, bl0nde said:

rice wine vinegar contains barley, which is not gluten free. this is a very common mistake people make. rice wine vinegar is NOT safe for celiacs. 

Rice wine vinegar is completely safe for celiacs.  The only one that is not gluten free is MALT VINEGAR.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

https://www.glutenfreeclub.com/balsamic-vinegar-gluten-free/

 

rice wine / rice vinegar often do contain barley malt. many online forums are incorrect. always check the ingredients of rice wine vinegar - sometimes safe, often times not.

i have reacted to rice wine vinegar many many times. i eat mostly raw or cook my own food (rarely eat out or anything packaged) so it's very easy for me to pinpoint exactly what causes my reactions. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/2/2017 at 2:18 PM, kareng said:

Which flavor has " rice wine vinegar"? Neither of the two that said " French" contains rice wine vinegar.   

my bottle of this dressing stated "rice wine vinegar" on the ingredients. i have never purchased this one before, but perhaps they have a new recipe, or this is an old bottle of old recipe. i threw out the bottle already or i would post a photo. 

it was the french vinagraitte with the grapes on the bottle. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/8/2017 at 2:39 AM, bl0nde said:

https://www.glutenfreeclub.com/balsamic-vinegar-gluten-free/

 

rice wine / rice vinegar often do contain barley malt. many online forums are incorrect. always check the ingredients of rice wine vinegar - sometimes safe, often times not.

i have reacted to rice wine vinegar many many times. i eat mostly raw or cook my own food (rarely eat out or anything packaged) so it's very easy for me to pinpoint exactly what causes my reactions. 

Hmm, I don't see anything about rice wine vinegar in this article you linked?  It seems to be about Balsalmic vinegar (grape vinegar) instead.  I don't think they even make rice wine vinegar in Italy because they probably don't grow rice there?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, AprilS88 said:

It's the tocopherols. I just ate the strawberry label one and my dh is back with a vengeance. I emailed and asked source of tocopherols but haven't heard back yet.

tocopherols are not a concern for Celiacs.  they are gluten free no matter what the original source.

" ...the vast preponderance of edible oils consumed in the U.S. are highly refined and processed to the extent that allergenic proteins are not present in detectable amounts. Scientific studies indicate that refined oils are safe for the food-allergic population to consume...."

http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/vitamin-e-from-wheat-germ-oil/

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...