Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

CeliacMOM78

Overwhelmed Mom!

Recommended Posts

My son was just recently diagnosed with celiac disease. I am so overwhelmed with making my kitchen a gluten-free one! I was upset last night when I realized I couldn't use Hunt's ketchup to make meatloaf. However to my surprise and happiness Heinz ketchup is gluten free!! I also e-mailed the company and asked for a list of all of their gluten free products. They replied the very next day with a very long list of products! Just a nice informative note for other parents and patients out there!


Julienne

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Isn't it funny how happy we can get about something as silly as Ketchup? :)

Kraft and Con- Agra are companies that will fully disclose any gluten in the ingredients. They make brands that only sayCon-Agra or Kraft in the small print on the back. Like Hunts is a Con- Agra product.

There are a few others but I can't find the list?


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was upset last night when I realized I couldn't use Hunt's ketchup to make meatloaf.

Why is that? ConAgra will clearly list gluten, and I am not aware of any in Hunt's ketchup (or any other brand as of this moment). Heinz Organic Ketchup used to contain gluten (barley malt), but that changed a few years ago. Here is some info about Hunt's ketchup.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why is that? ConAgra will clearly list gluten, and I am not aware of any in Hunt's ketchup (or any other brand as of this moment). Heinz Organic Ketchup used to contain gluten (barley malt), but that changed a few years ago. Here is some info about Hunt's ketchup.

I am not sure what particular Hunts ketchup I had, but I gave it away already.. My son is also a type one diabetic. I'm trying my best and like I said, it gets overwhelming when one book says to stay away from certain vinegar's that are in ketchup and other things and then other sites say it's ok?


Julienne

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Isn't it funny how happy we can get about something as silly as Ketchup? :)

Kraft and Con- Agra are companies that will fully disclose any gluten in the ingredients. They make brands that only sayCon-Agra or Kraft in the small print on the back. Like Hunts is a Con- Agra product.

There are a few others but I can't find the list?

YES! Among others! I did find that ortego taco seasoning is also gluten free- so bring on the taco's tonight!! :-) My twins are 12, so this adjustment is hard on them!


Julienne

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am not sure what particular Hunts ketchup I had, but I gave it away already.. My son is also a type one diabetic. I'm trying my best and like I said, it gets overwhelming when one book says to stay away from certain vinegar's that are in ketchup and other things and then other sites say it's ok?

I think you missed the point that both Peter & I were making. Kraft and Con- Agra ( Hunts is one of thier products) will always list gluten. The only vinegar you need to worry about would say malt vinegar. These 2 companies would clearly mark that in the ingredients.


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think you missed the point that both Peter & I were making. Kraft and Con- Agra ( Hunts is one of thier products) will always list gluten. The only vinegar you need to worry about would say malt vinegar. These 2 companies would clearly mark that in the ingredients.

(slumps down feeling silly!) THANK YOU!!!!


Julienne

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I remember being a newly diagnosed Celiac, and it IS totally overwhelming at first. I just wanted to add that you do still have to read the labels closely of Kraft and ConAgra foods, as they won't list "gluten" as an ingredient. They will, however, list any ingredient that is derived from any kind of grains. The vinegar ... It used to be thought that all vinegars were a no-no, then they decided that the distillation process broke down any grain gluten that might be in it, and now it appears that only "malt" vinegar isn't made safe by that distillation process, although I have a container of "malt" vinegar at home which is clearly marked "gluten free". So, you have every reason to be confused, but just know that you get used to the diet and shopping for the food, and so will the kids, eventually. And I have usually found this site has very friendly and helpful people to answer questions, especially for those who are feeling as if this new way of life is an impossibility. It really isn't. It is the changing that is difficult.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am not sure what particular Hunts ketchup I had, but I gave it away already.. My son is also a type one diabetic. I'm trying my best and like I said, it gets overwhelming when one book says to stay away from certain vinegar's that are in ketchup and other things and then other sites say it's ok?

A few of us, myself included, react to distilled gluten grains. I use Heinz products because they don't use distilled gluten in their products. I don't know about Hunt's. Since technically distilled gluten is gluten free companies would not be doing anything wrong by using them but wouldn't always put it on the label. Malt vinegar would always be listed as malt vinegar and if you see just the word 'vinegar' on a label that would be apple cider vinegar and would be safe.

I should stress that many celiacs use distilled gluten vinegars and alcohols with no issues at all.


Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002

Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis

All bold resoved or went into remission in time with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002

 Gene Test Aug 2007

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ravenwood notes correctly that most people with celiac use distilled vinegar with no problem. Let me add that very, very, very few products use distilled vinegar that comes from wheat. Extremely rare.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites