This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Company Statements

laurelfla

laurelfla Enthusiast

How far do y'all go to avoid the possibility of gluten?

i'm still pretty new to all this. it's been a few weeks and i thought i had it down, more or less. today i discovered that Coke Zero has gluten in it, and lo and behold, that is what i drank off and on all this summer. i'm so frustrated!! i know it takes a while to get good at avoiding the right stuff, but everyday i feel dumber.

i keep getting symptoms and am now on a quest to clear my kitchen of cooking utensils that might be holding onto gluten and cleaning products that aren't safe, and i'm checking into all my cosmetics. because apart from the Coke incident (which i hadn't had recently anyway), i think i'm eating fine, just sticking to things i know are ok.

i have the gluten-free list off delphiforums and here is the statement from Estee Lauder:

"Consumers will find ingredient listings on our primary packaging material, in accordance with FDA regulations, using names which are standard throughout the cosmetic and fragrance industry. Because of the vast number of raw materials from different sources, it is not possible to guarantee that our products are completely free of any of the grains specified."

i've gone through the ingredients lists and they check out ok. but do i worry about their "no guarantees" stance? do i now avoid all foods/products from any company that can't guarantee there are no cross contamination or questionable sources? is that even realistic? i feel like i will drive myself crazy trying to figure out what's in everything!