Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Billygoat

Hidden Gluten In Drinks?

Recommended Posts

I'm fairly new to this discussion board (although not new to gluten-free dieting) and have learned so much about the gluten-free diet lately. I've worked hard to be gluten-free, but over the years I feel like I've been "glutened" even though I don't think I have.

Someone on this board mentioned getting glutened by drinks? How is that? What ingredient has gluten hidden in it? Was it "natural flavors" or the "modified food starch"? I ask because I just drank an IBC Black Cherry soda and I'm feeling like total butt. My head is throbbing and my stomach feels totally bloated. My hips ache.

Can someone help me? I feel awful. :blink:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


You may want to go to the safe and forbidden lists. This link will tell you what gluten can hide under.

https://www.celiac.com/st_main.html?p_catid=12

Both natural flavors and modified food starch have the possibility of having gluten so you need to check each individual product.

Alot of drinks are safe but some are not.

However, the following brands will clearly list wheat,rye, barley, and oats right on the label or they will be safe. This saves us alot of time so we don't have to call about any natural flavors or anything..we just look for one of those four ingredients. With brands other then the following, you have to call.

Aunt Nelly’s

Balance

Baskin Robbins

Ben&Jerry

Betty Crocker

Blue Bunny

Breyers

Campbells

Cascadian Farms

Celestial Seasonings

Country Crock

Dove

Edy’s

General Mills

Good Humor

Green Giant

Haagen Daz

Hellman’s

Hershey

Hormel

Hungry Jack

Jiffy

Klondike

Knorr

Kozy Snack

Kraft

Libby’s

Lipton

Martha White

McCormick

Nabisco

Nestle

Old El Paso

Ortega

Pillsbury

Popsicle

Post

Progresso

Russell Stover

Seneca Foods

Smucker

Stokely’s

Sunny Delight

T Marzetti

Tyson

Unilever

Wishbone

Yoplait

Zatarain’s


Kaiti

Positive bloodwork

Gluten-free since January 2004

Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another thing to be careful about is the different substances that exist in the same "named" product from one country to another.

For example, I am trying to determine whether or not "Keens" Dry Mustard has gluten in it. I have been told that Canada and the U.S. differ, and that one country has a safe version; the other country does not. I think the U.S. has the safe version, so I might be out of luck.

Depending on where you live, you will be subject to different labelling laws: laws that may allow trace amounts of gluten to be present in "gluten-free" labelled foods. Good luck. It's quite the task ferreting out every last bit of gluten from one's diet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm fairly new to this discussion board (although not new to gluten-free dieting) and have learned so much about the gluten-free diet lately.  I've worked hard to be gluten-free, but over the years I feel like I've been "glutened" even though I don't think I have.

Someone on this board mentioned getting glutened by drinks?  How is that?  What ingredient has gluten hidden in it?  Was it "natural flavors" or the "modified food starch"?  I ask because I just drank an IBC Black Cherry soda and I'm feeling like total butt.  My head is throbbing and my stomach feels totally bloated.  My hips ache.

Can someone help me?  I feel awful.  :blink:

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm fairly new to this discussion board (although not new to gluten-free dieting) and have learned so much about the gluten-free diet lately.  I've worked hard to be gluten-free, but over the years I feel like I've been "glutened" even though I don't think I have.

Someone on this board mentioned getting glutened by drinks?  How is that?  What ingredient has gluten hidden in it?  Was it "natural flavors" or the "modified food starch"?  I ask because I just drank an IBC Black Cherry soda and I'm feeling like total butt.  My head is throbbing and my stomach feels totally bloated.  My hips ache.

Can someone help me?  I feel awful.  :blink:

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm curious about this as well. I've been trying to figure out where I'm getting glutened from the last few days and the only common factor is dr. pepper soda. I was afraid of diet coke for a while because NutraSweet contains dextrose, but I just read the their dextrose is corn-derived... but could the natural flavors in Dr. Pepper contain wheat or grain flavors? If anyone knows I'd sure be interested... B)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm curious about this as well. I've been trying to figure out where I'm getting glutened from the last few days and the only common factor is dr. pepper soda. I was afraid of diet coke for a while because NutraSweet contains dextrose, but I just read the their dextrose is corn-derived... but could the natural flavors in Dr. Pepper contain wheat or grain flavors? If anyone knows I'd sure be interested...  B)

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Dr Pepper is gluten free


Kaiti

Positive bloodwork

Gluten-free since January 2004

Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Dr Pepper is gluten free

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Thanks, Kaiti! I found out later that the cornbread I had made (totally gluten free, I thought) had modified food starch in the cream corn! I'm still getting used to looking at the labels on totally illogical things, like the mopping sauce I used for barbecue has modified food starch! Thanks again for the confirmation, it's nice to know what products are safe... B)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
What about regular Coke?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

gluten-free too.


Angi

Milw/Madison, Wisconsin

Diagnosed 12-2003 positive biopsy confirmed w/bloodwork

gluten-free from 5-2004

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep Coke is gluten free....pretty much all Coke and Pepsi softdrinks are gluten free.


Kaiti

Positive bloodwork

Gluten-free since January 2004

Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

AS I said pretty much all Coke and Pepsi soft drinks are gluten free and that includes diet ones.

Coffees and tea you have to watch because they can have gluten.

Celestial Seasonings will mark gluten free on the bottom or sides of their boxes to tell you if it is or not.

Some coffees are flavored and teas as well that have things we can't have in them.

Most of Starbucks drinks are gluten free.


Kaiti

Positive bloodwork

Gluten-free since January 2004

Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not sure where IBC drinks are made, but caramel color from outside the US is sometimes not ok. Also check for malt or barley in those. I've found that after being gluten-free for a while I am a little more sensitive to chemicals, so artificial flavors and sweeteners are not flying so well with me, though I don't think I am being glutened. Sometimes cherries mess me up, so maybe it is the cherry flavor in those drinks for you?


Blood work positive

Dx with IBS 5 years ago

Dx with Celiac and gluten-free since 6/17/05

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
gluten-free too.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

hi all... i was offically diagnosed monday... andi am bummed... and overwhelmed.. my doc told me to see a nutritionst... which i will.. but in the mean time... this is a lot to take in.. i didn print the lists you suggested to billygoat.. and i am even more overwhelmed.. where do i start??? help..lol... i'm trying to suck it up .. but this sux!...

:unsure:


Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
hi all... i was offically diagnosed monday... andi am bummed... and overwhelmed.. my doc told me to see a nutritionst... which i will.. but in the mean time... this is a lot to take in.. i didn print the lists you suggested to billygoat.. and i am even more overwhelmed.. where do i start??? help..lol... i'm trying to suck it up .. but this sux!...

:unsure:

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

did print...lol... ohhh see i can't even post right i'm so freaked.. :lol:


Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

this is way late but in case anyone is interested I dont know if it is gluten or not but diet Dr pepper was killing me. I can drink the regular Dr pepper but I could not figure out what was getting me so bad and I finially stopped the Diet Dr pepper and it is going away. Also the splenda I have stopped also. Now I dont know if that is a bother cause I was using that at the same time and I just have not used it since. So suit yourself but it was hurting me bad.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've heard Dr. Pepper has prunes in it, but I'm not sure if that's true. If so, maybe that bothered your stomach, although I wonder if the diet would have prunes also? I love Dr. Pepper and it always bothers my stomach. I haven't tried the diet because diet drinks always taste terrible to me.


Every day is a blessing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi,

I was cheking in the internet about dairy products (which I canno have...) and I foun a site that said that soy products (like yogurt, milk, cheese...) can be considered dairy... Does anyone knows if this is true?

Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
What about Diet Sodas?

Coffee?

Tea?

Ive heard that some coffee and tea can have gluten. How? Why?

Any answers?????

:)

A lot of the teas that come in tea bags have gluten in them, something to do with the bag. If I drink tea it has to be leaf tea.


Rusla

Asthma-1969

wheat/ dairy allergies, lactose/casein intolerance-1980

Multiple food, environmental allergies

allergic to all antibiotics except sulpha

Rheumitoid arthritis,Migraine headaches,TMJ- 1975

fibromyalgia-1995

egg allergy-1997

msg allergy,gall bladder surgery-1972

Skin Biopsy positive DH-Dec.1 2005, confirmed celiac disease

gluten-free totally since Nov. 28, 2005

Hashimoto's Hypothyroidism- 2005

Pernicious Anemia 1999 (still anemic on and off.)

Osteoporosis Aug. 2006

Creative people need maids.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know about IBC drinks for sure, but I read on them one time Modified FOOd starch and didn't buy then, because of that. WHy there would be wheat in a drink is beyond me. FOod starch in a soda! OUr world tries to sabotage us celiacs! No, really though, it could have gluten in it, so I would definitely call them or something before drinking anymore of it.

Monica

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
A lot of the teas that come in tea bags have gluten in them, something to do with the bag. If I drink tea it has to be leaf tea.

it's something of a celiac urban legend that tea bags are held together with a wheat based glue. no company ever called has said that - and all the ones I've talked to have noted they are steam pressed. it doesn't even make much sense to use a wheat based glue, because it would dissolve in the water!


Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"

Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy

G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004

Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me

Bellevue, WA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Cinda,

I was diagnosed last week, well actually my endoscopy and biopsy is this thursday, i have to start gluten-free after then, im starting tomorrow because my stomach hurts so much. Im new to this too. Print the forbidden and safe lists on this website. I found this soooooo helpfull. I went to the grocery store this weekend, so sad, and went throught that list and actually found alot of food i could cook. Email me and we can keep in touch, mckaylaslove@aol.com

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
it's something of a celiac urban legend that tea bags are held together with a wheat based glue. no company ever called has said that - and all the ones I've talked to have noted they are steam pressed. it doesn't even make much sense to use a wheat based glue, because it would dissolve in the water!

That is interesting so, I can go back to drinking my herbal teas. Like apple and cinnamon. It is nice that we have our own urban legends.


Rusla

Asthma-1969

wheat/ dairy allergies, lactose/casein intolerance-1980

Multiple food, environmental allergies

allergic to all antibiotics except sulpha

Rheumitoid arthritis,Migraine headaches,TMJ- 1975

fibromyalgia-1995

egg allergy-1997

msg allergy,gall bladder surgery-1972

Skin Biopsy positive DH-Dec.1 2005, confirmed celiac disease

gluten-free totally since Nov. 28, 2005

Hashimoto's Hypothyroidism- 2005

Pernicious Anemia 1999 (still anemic on and off.)

Osteoporosis Aug. 2006

Creative people need maids.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites