This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Help With Microwave Cheese Sauce?

BeFree

BeFree Contributor

So...I'm pretty new at this, and I tried to make this microwave cheese sauce by substituting Bob's All Purpose Flour, uh, really did not work. Any advice? I want a quick cheese sauce that I can melt in the microwave.

Tried to use this recipe:

1 cup milk

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

salt and pepper to taste

2 tablespoons butter

1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Adalaide Mentor

I think I use rice flour in my mac & cheese sauce, not totally sure though. I've never microwaved it though so not sure if it would be any better. I'd just try Velveeta. Add a couple of tablespoons of milk to the smallest size brick (cut up) and stir very very frequently.

mushroom Proficient

I'm afraid I must be a purist. I just can't imagine why you would want to make a sauce in the microwave (unless, of course, that was the only heat source available). :P There is just something so satisfying about watching a sauce evolve in all its velvety smoothness..... :)

BeFree Contributor

"I'm afraid I must be a purist. I just can't imagine why you would want to make a sauce in the microwave (unless, of course, that was the only heat source available). There is just something so satisfying about watching a sauce evolve in all its velvety smoothness....."