Rate this topic

Hi, I am new to gluten free cooking etc for our son. We have not done any tests other than tests to rule out most other health issues. My son, who is 9, has severe gut wrenching cramps/pain. We have a family history of wheat intolerance coupled with the fact he has this horrible pain, our doctor opted to take him off gluten and see how he reacted. (Just so happens his wife and best friend are gluten intolerant or have celiac disease, so he has a pretty good practical knowledge of the testing etc) We have had a couple days here and there where he has felt well-that has been nice! Then he will accidentally get gluten, either from my ignorance (steep learning curve but I am trying to learn it fast) or cross contamination at grandmas/ restaurant etc! Then he feels lousy!!!

At the moment he has a prescription for hycosamine(SP?). It helps a little with his pain. He was given librax by another doctor, it worked really well, unfortunately wasn't covered by the insurance! However, we are thinking of buying it out of pocket, just to get some relief. Does any one else use this! Hopefully soon we will be savvy/careful/educated enough so that he isn't exposed to gluten. But in the meantime if he gets gluten even in cross contamination he is in bed for the better part of two days in pain off and all day! And the rest off the time he lives in fear of eating in case the pain starts again! It makes play dates or time at grandparents, eating out etc almost impossible!!