This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Confused With Celiac Diagnosis

Ziva

Ziva Newbie

I am new to Celiac Disease and the forum. I'm not really sure where to post, but would like some input into my diagnosis. Thanks

On January 19, I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease. I am a bit confused in that I have no outward symptoms and think I feel fine. I think! I had a routine colonoscopy in Dec. and that was normal. The gastroenterologist was more concerned about my anemia. I was referred to a hematologist who ordered more tests. I do not have any of the GI symptoms and my biopsy evidently came back normal. I have also had a CT scan of my abdomen and that was normal. The only symptoms I can say I have are the Anemia and have found out I am also Vitamin D deficient. Since then I have been reading information and looking at this site. According to my Celiac Panel, the tTG is <3

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

ravenwoodglass Mentor

Well you are having symptoms since you have deficiencies. It does look like they caught it early which is a good thing. Celiac doesn't just affect the gut it can show up in mood and nerve issues, thyroid problems, inflammation of the joints and muscles and much more. IMHO it is better that they catch it early rather than waiting till you get to the point where you have a signature like mine and many others here on the board.

Welcome to the board and ask any other questions needed.

biancanera Newbie