This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Vertigo, Ataxia After gluten-free

ctenny

ctenny Rookie

I've been Gluten free for 3 and a half weeks. In my opinion, I've been pretty careful to only eat gluten-free products.

Just this past week, I've had vertigo a couple of times after sitting down/sitting up. I am also a college student and just during this past week have I noticed a couple times where I feel very uncoordinated and it feels as if my body is wobbly and with each step I have to additionally reassure myself to keep myself "up straight" so as not to fall over (left or right).

I had vertigo and ataxia a couple times before going gluten-free, but they were sporadic and few (maybe twice a month for vertigo but nearly daily for weird unbalanced walking).

Why do I still feel like I can't walk a staight line? I actually can walk a straight line but I have to focus on not teetering to the right or left.

What about the vertigo? Could it just be from vitamin deficiencies since going gluten-free? I think I'm eating a pretty balanced diet still.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Bubba's Mom Enthusiast

Gluten gives me that effect. I got some gluten-free deli lunch meat 6weeks ago that *might* have been cc? I've been dealing with the off-balance issue since then. It is getting less in intensity though. Neurological symptoms can take a while to heal.

Double check to make sure there's nothing that's sneaking into your diet.

ctenny Rookie