This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Daughter Dx'd With Gluten Sensitivity

goodfountain

goodfountain Newbie

Hi All,

I'm a newbie here. My 7 yr old daughter tested positive for gluten sensitivity (IgA Antibodies in her stool via Enterolab). She has previously tested negative for Celiac (including the gene test). However, she does have another gene for gluten sensitivity (2 of the same one, actually, therefore she must've gotten one from each of us Mom and Dad).

The thing is that she doesn't have a lot of symptoms of gluten sensitivity other than she is sensitive to a large number of other foods (peanut, dairy, soy, oranges, and others). That sensitivity causes behavioral problems (not GI) and it has taken us the better part of 2 years to put it all together. She had an IgG test 3 yrs ago and she tested sensitive to 27 different foods (including gluten). Most all of those foods have caused a problem behaviorally for her at some point or other ... other than gluten. She was gluten-free for about a year but after putting her back on it and seeing no change and then testing her for celiac, we decided gluten wasn't a problem.

Someone suggested that with all those other food issues, gluten might be the underlying issue which is why we tested her for the IgA antibodies. I admit was skeptical and I'm surprised when the test (and gene test) came back positive.