This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Rice Cooker And Pressure Cooker?

Mrs. M.

Mrs. M. Apprentice

Hi-

I am new to the gluten free diet. I am eating a lot of rice (and enjoying it) and my friends are suggesting that I get a rice cooker to make it easier to prepare. Meanwhile, my husband wants to get a pressure cooker (unrelated to my gluten issue). I would like to have as few appliances as possible. Can I use the pressure cooker for rice, or would I be better off having both appliances? I know everyone is different, but I'm looking for input for people who are experienced in gluten-free cooking. We like to cook but don't want to go overboard buying a bunch of expensive new equipment that we don't need.

thanks!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

mushroom Proficient

My personal opinion (for what it's worth, having never owned a pressure cooker) is that a slow cooker (crockpot) would be a more useful gluten free appliance than a fast (pressure) cooker. It doesn't require watching and your dinner cooks all day while you are doing other things. I don't know what the fascination is with rice cookers since cooking rice is so easy. It seems like a wasted appliance to me. :o Sure, I know you can steam stuff on top.......

ciamarie Rookie