ChickenLady

Packaging That Does Not Say Gluten Free Still Can Be Right?

Rate this topic

Hi all I am new to this gluten free way of life. My son has been having bouts of extreme uncontrollable itching. Doctors can not figure what is wrong with him. I have done my own research and think he has a wheat/gluten allergy. He does not suffer from the intestinal distress thankfully.

In my search for food and ingredients for him I am looking in both specialty isles and also regular isles at the store. We bought some cornflake crumbs in the regular isle and I did not identify anything that would be gluten related in it. We then ventured over to the special gluten free isle and found some gluten free corn flake crumbs there but they were less than have the volume for over double the price. Barring the risk of some manufacturing cross contamination, can regular foods be safe and gluten free even without the box stating specifically gluten free?

Yes, they can.

But I would not expect cornflakes, or cornflake crumbs to be gluten-free. Mainstream products of that sort will almost always contain gluten in the form of barley malt. Look for the word "malt."

(Don't be confused about words that start with the letters m-a-l-t. Only the exact word "malt" is a concern.)

• Upvote 1

Peter you read my mind! I was thinking the same thing while reading the post. I have never seen gluten free cornflakes or crumbs that was not made specially for gluten free. Gluten has many, may hidden names because of all the derivatives/forms it can take on.