This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Dang Sneaky Gluten

JustNana

JustNana Apprentice

Two places come to mind for me. Keep in mind I'm a newbie and just a tad naive. I was shocked, yes shocked to find that my Calcium, Magnesium, Zinc supplement had wheat in it. Yeah I know. My Dr was surprised! Duh.

The second was in a bag of cashews my cousin was munching on and offered. A quick glance at ingredients said "cashews and salt.". Two hours later I was scratching with new DH flares. I hadn't had anything else since my breakfast of egg on a slice of Udis and yogurt. I dug the bag out of the trash and down at the bottom in small print was the disclaimer about shared equipment with peanuts and wheat! 

Sheesh

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

kareng Grand Master

Two places come to mind for me. Keep in mind I'm a newbie and just a tad naive. I was shocked, yes shocked to find that my Calcium, Magnesium, Zinc supplement had wheat in it. Yeah I know. My Dr was surprised! Duh.

The second was in a bag of cashews my cousin was munching on and offered. A quick glance at ingredients said "cashews and salt.". Two hours later I was scratching with new DH flares. I hadn't had anything else since my breakfast of egg on a slice of Udis and yogurt. I dug the bag out of the trash and down at the bottom in small print was the disclaimer about shared equipment with peanuts and wheat! 

Sheesh

Read on the DH threads. Many find that iodine triggers thier DH. I don't know which foods naturally have iodine but some salts have iodine added.

mamaw Community Regular