0
RPM

Disturbing Message From Kraft

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Like a lot of you, I've always been one to trust in Kraft but this message I got earlier surprised me. I've been feeling terrible recently and the ONLY thing I've had differently is Kraft BBQ sauce. They all say "vinegar" but Kraft says that their "vinegar" is distilled vinegar which means it could be from wheat (and I'm one of the sensitive ones) so I decided to call and ask.

The guy asked me for the bar code of a sauce, I gave him a recent one and he said the vinegar is fine but "there's gluten containing ingredients in the spices"...it's not like he said there COULD be in the typical CYA response, he actually said the spices contained gluten...there's nothing suspicious on the label, your typical BBQ sauce, but I even double checked with him and he said it was coming up as containing gluten in some of the ingredients...I've seen a LOT of gossip and talk about Kraft on the delphi board recently and didn't really think much of it but that surprises me

Maybe it's just this BBQ sauce, maybe it's others too, but for somebody to firmly say that it contains gluten, after I give him the bar code and he looks it up and everything, surprises me.

I know about the whole "we can't guarantee our sources etc etc" but that's a whole different story, this is actually coming up as not gluten-free and there's nothing on the label about it.

I don't really know what to make of it but I guess be careful.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ads by Google:
Ads by Google:


I guess you could report them to the FDA. I believe the legal definition in the US of spices is that they can't contain grain. They must be spices. Also, if they are adding wheat without labelling, that would be another legal problem.

I'm guessing that they are trying to have a CYA statement and it's not been handled well. They probably mean that they get the " spices" from a company that doesn't test for gluten and neither does Kraft.

Perhaps an email to Kraft to get that cleared up?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That really surprises me because Kraft has a policy to disclose gluten and other allergens on the label and it's been in place for quite a while - they voluntarily label all gluten sources and not just wheat. Their products seem to have a pretty good reputation. I would call again and speak to someone else - perhaps a supervisor and try to figure out exactly what he meant and what he was referencing.

I would be curious to know what you find out.

http://www.kraftreci...nfreefoods.aspx

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is unfortunate, I wonder what else has changed?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is unfortunate, I wonder what else has changed?

I'm still not sure anything has changed. Sometimes your information is only as good as your customer service representative.

I, too, would encourage the OP to make that call again and talk to a supervisor.

In additions, if a vinegar was a from a wheat source, it BY LAW would be required to be listed on the ingredient listing or in an allergen warning.

http://www.kraftrecipes.com/healthy-living-ideas/articles/food-allergies/glutenfreefoods.aspx

Reading Labels

Carefully read the ingredient statements on all food labels each time you make food selections. This enables you to obtain the most accurate ingredient information for the specific products you select. It also allows you to get the most current information since ingredients in products may change over time. The ingredient information on labels of Kraft products is very specific to help you make accurate and informed choices. If a Kraft product has an ingredient that is a source of gluten, the specific grain will be listed in the ingredient statement, no matter how small the amount. For labeling purposes, Kraft products will always state the names ‘wheat, barley, rye and/or oats’ when they are added to a product either directly as an ingredient or as part of an ingredient.

Examples of Ingredient Statements*

1) Kraft products made with a gluten-containing grain list the grain in the ingredient line using commonly known terms such as wheat, barley, rye and/or oats.

HONEY MAID: Honey Graham Crackers

HONEY MAID® Graham Crackers Ingredients: ENRICHED FLOUR (WHEAT FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMINE MONONITRATE [VITAMIN B1], RIBOFLAVIN [VITAMIN B2], FOLIC ACID), SUGAR, GRAHAM FLOUR (WHOLE GRAIN WHEAT FLOUR, SOYBEAN OIL, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED COTTONSEED OIL, HONEY, LEAVENING (BAKING SODA, CALCIUM PHOSPHATE), SALT, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, SOY LECITHIN-AN EMULSIFIER, CORNSTARCH.

2) Kraft products made with an ingredient that contains a source of gluten will list that grain source in parentheses after the ingredient in the ingredient line if that is the only source of gluten in the product. This method is used, as necessary, to identify sources of gluten in flavors, modified food starch and other ingredients.

(The bold is mine)

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ads by Google:


After reading the thread on delphi, it's apparent that Kraft hasn't changed it's policy one bit. I'll still be buying with confidence from them.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sounds like a case of a confused rep to me. test the theory out and call back with the same question and see what happens!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

After reading the thread on delphi, it's apparent that Kraft hasn't changed it's policy one bit. I'll still be buying with confidence from them.

richard

As will I.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I called back and the woman said she wouldn't recommend trying it because the flavorings might contain it. She said the suppliers only have to tell them if there's wheat in the product so they're not sure if it has other forms of gluten or not. I don't know, I use Kraft products but both responses surprise me, I was under the impression that if it has gluten, it'll say it, but if their suppliers only have to tell them if there's wheat then that seems like it could be risky. At least with the BBQ sauces, obviously there's a lot of products like Oscar Meyer and such where there's nothing to worry about.

If somebody else wants to ask, they can, the bar code is 21000 67916.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I called back and the woman said she wouldn't recommend trying it because the flavorings might contain it. She said the suppliers only have to tell them if there's wheat in the product so they're not sure if it has other forms of gluten or not. I don't know, I use Kraft products but both responses surprise me, I was under the impression that if it has gluten, it'll say it, but if their suppliers only have to tell them if there's wheat then that seems like it could be risky. At least with the BBQ sauces, obviously there's a lot of products like Oscar Meyer and such where there's nothing to worry about.

If somebody else wants to ask, they can, the bar code is 21000 67916.

I don't think these reps know what they're talking about. The chances of finding barley or rye hidden in natural flavorings is slim to none. The only possibility is barley malt, which I've never seen in BBQ sauce. Also barley malt is expensive so it's usually listed separately as a luxury ingredient.

I'd be willing to bet the "gluten" in the natural flavorings the first rep saw was monosodium glutamate. A lot of people who are poorly educated about the diet find the world glutamate confusing.

By the way, Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce is really good and gluten-free. :)

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:


Ya know, I'm not even sure of the last time I bought Kraft anything...I didn't before celiac, and def don't now, how odd...maybe Kraft Mac n cheese years ago in college...hmmm....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ya know, I'm not even sure of the last time I bought Kraft anything...I didn't before celiac, and def don't now, how odd...maybe Kraft Mac n cheese years ago in college...hmmm....

Kraft makes so many things under so many names I'd be stunned if you haven't bought something made by them without even knowing it.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't think these reps know what they're talking about. The chances of finding barley or rye hidden in natural flavorings is slim to none. The only possibility is barley malt, which I've never seen in BBQ sauce. Also barley malt is expensive so it's usually listed separately as a luxury ingredient.

I'd be willing to bet the "gluten" in the natural flavorings the first rep saw was monosodium glutamate. A lot of people who are poorly educated about the diet find the world glutamate confusing.

By the way, Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce is really good and gluten-free. :)

It surprises me that you haven't seen barley malt in BBQ sauce. I don't check sauces themselves (I only use Sticky Fingers, which I had used from before being diagnosed, and is gluten-free), but on a small snack pack of Lays Barbecue chips, malted barley was listed as an ingredient.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It surprises me that you haven't seen barley malt in BBQ sauce. I don't check sauces themselves (I only use Sticky Fingers, which I had used from before being diagnosed, and is gluten-free), but on a small snack pack of Lays Barbecue chips, malted barley was listed as an ingredient.

Good to know! See how it's listed separately, though? :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It surprises me that you haven't seen barley malt in BBQ sauce. I don't check sauces themselves (I only use Sticky Fingers, which I had used from before being diagnosed, and is gluten-free), but on a small snack pack of Lays Barbecue chips, malted barley was listed as an ingredient.

It's common to see gluten in potato chips and snacks but not as much in BBQ Sauce so I'm not surprised...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kraft makes so many things under so many names I'd be stunned if you haven't bought something made by them without even knowing it.

richard

Well, considering I barely eat processed foods, I'm pretty sure lol I got on raw, organic kick once and loved it! I'm not completely raw but pretty close. I've tried pretty hard to stick to it, but I fall off the wagon as much as everyone else. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

  • Who's Online   17 Members, 1 Anonymous, 471 Guests (See full list)

  • Top Posters +

  • Recent Articles

    Roxanne Bracknell
    Celiac.com 06/22/2018 - The rise of food allergies means that many people are avoiding gluten in recent times. In fact, the number of Americans who have stopped eating gluten has tripled in eight years between 2009 and 2017.
    Whatever your rationale for avoiding gluten, whether its celiac disease, a sensitivity to the protein, or any other reason, it can be really hard to find suitable places to eat out. When you’re on holiday in a new and unknown environment, this can be near impossible. As awareness of celiac disease grows around the world, however, more and more cities are opening their doors to gluten-free lifestyles, none more so than the 10 locations on the list below.
    Perhaps unsurprisingly, the U.S is a hotbed of gluten-free options, with four cities making the top 10, as well as the Hawaiian island of Maui. Chicago, in particular, is a real haven of gluten-free fare, with 240 coeliac-safe eateries throughout this huge city. The super hip city of Portland also ranks highly on this list, with the capital of counterculture rich in gluten-free cuisine, with San Francisco and Denver also included. Outside of the states, several prominent European capitals also rank very highly on the list, including Prague, the picturesque and historic capital of the Czech Republic, which boasts the best-reviewed restaurants on this list.
    The Irish capital of Dublin, meanwhile, has the most gluten-free establishments, with a huge 330 to choose from, while Amsterdam and Barcelona also feature prominently thanks to their variety of top-notch gluten-free fodder.
    Finally, a special mention must go to Auckland, the sole representative of Australasia in this list, with the largest city in New Zealand rounding out the top 10 thanks to its 180 coeliacsafe eateries.
    The full top ten gluten-free cities are shown in the graphic below:
     

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 06/21/2018 - Would you buy a house advertised as ‘gluten-free’? Yes, there really is such a house for sale. 
    It seems a Phoenix realtor Mike D’Elena is hoping that his trendy claim will catch the eye of a buyer hungry to avoid gluten, or, at least one with a sense of humor. D’Elena said he crafted the ads as a way to “be funny and to draw attention.” The idea, D’Elena said, is to “make it memorable.” 
    Though D’Elena’s marketing seeks to capitalizes on the gluten-free trend, he knows Celiac disease is a serious health issue for some people. “[W]e’re not here to offend anybody….this is just something we're just trying to do to draw attention and do what's best for our clients," he said. 
    Still, the signs seem to be working. D'elena had fielded six offers within a few days of listing the west Phoenix home.
    "Buying can sometimes be the most stressful thing you do in your entire life so why not have some fun with it," he said. 
    What do you think? Clever? Funny?
    Read more at Arizonafamily.com.

    Advertising Banner-Ads
    Bakery On Main started in the small bakery of a natural foods market on Main Street in Glastonbury, Connecticut. Founder Michael Smulders listened when his customers with Celiac Disease would mention the lack of good tasting, gluten-free options available to them. Upon learning this, he believed that nobody should have to suffer due to any kind of food allergy or dietary need. From then on, his mission became creating delicious and fearlessly unique gluten-free products that were clean and great tasting, while still being safe for his Celiac customers!
    Premium ingredients, bakeshop delicious recipes, and happy customers were our inspiration from the beginning— and are still the cornerstones of Bakery On Main today. We are a fiercely ethical company that believes in integrity and feels that happiness and wholesome, great tasting food should be harmonious. We strive for that in everything we bake in our dedicated gluten-free facility that is GFCO Certified and SQF Level 3 Certified. We use only natural, NON-GMO Project Verified ingredients and all of our products are certified Kosher Parve, dairy and casein free, and we have recently introduced certified Organic items as well! 
    Our passion is to bake the very best products while bringing happiness to our customers, each other, and all those we meet!
    We are available during normal business hours at: 1-888-533-8118 EST.
    To learn more about us at: visit our site.

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 06/20/2018 - Currently, the only way to manage celiac disease is to eliminate gluten from the diet. That could be set to change as clinical trials begin in Australia for a new vaccine that aims to switch off the immune response to gluten. 
    The trials are set to begin at Australia’s University of the Sunshine Coast Clinical Trials Centre. The vaccine is designed to allow people with celiac disease to consume gluten with no adverse effects. A successful vaccine could be the beginning of the end for the gluten-free diet as the only currently viable treatment for celiac disease. That could be a massive breakthrough for people with celiac disease.
    USC’s Clinical Trials Centre Director Lucas Litewka said trial participants would receive an injection of the vaccine twice a week for seven weeks. The trials will be conducted alongside gastroenterologist Dr. James Daveson, who called the vaccine “a very exciting potential new therapy that has been undergoing clinical trials for several years now.”
    Dr. Daveson said the investigational vaccine might potentially restore gluten tolerance to people with celiac disease.The trial is open to adults between the ages of 18 and 70 who have clinically diagnosed celiac disease, and have followed a strict gluten-free diet for at least 12 months. Anyone interested in participating can go to www.joinourtrials.com.
    Read more at the website for Australia’s University of the Sunshine Coast Clinical Trials Centre.

    Source:
    FoodProcessing.com.au

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 06/19/2018 - Could baking soda help reduce the inflammation and damage caused by autoimmune diseases like rheumatoid arthritis, and celiac disease? Scientists at the Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University say that a daily dose of baking soda may in fact help reduce inflammation and damage caused by autoimmune diseases like rheumatoid arthritis, and celiac disease.
    Those scientists recently gathered some of the first evidence to show that cheap, over-the-counter antacids can prompt the spleen to promote an anti-inflammatory environment that could be helpful in combating inflammatory disease.
    A type of cell called mesothelial cells line our body cavities, like the digestive tract. They have little fingers, called microvilli, that sense the environment, and warn the organs they cover that there is an invader and an immune response is needed.
    The team’s data shows that when rats or healthy people drink a solution of baking soda, the stomach makes more acid, which causes mesothelial cells on the outside of the spleen to tell the spleen to go easy on the immune response.  "It's most likely a hamburger not a bacterial infection," is basically the message, says Dr. Paul O'Connor, renal physiologist in the MCG Department of Physiology at Augusta University and the study's corresponding author.
    That message, which is transmitted with help from a chemical messenger called acetylcholine, seems to encourage the gut to shift against inflammation, say the scientists.
    In patients who drank water with baking soda for two weeks, immune cells called macrophages, shifted from primarily those that promote inflammation, called M1, to those that reduce it, called M2. "The shift from inflammatory to an anti-inflammatory profile is happening everywhere," O'Connor says. "We saw it in the kidneys, we saw it in the spleen, now we see it in the peripheral blood."
    O'Connor hopes drinking baking soda can one day produce similar results for people with autoimmune disease. "You are not really turning anything off or on, you are just pushing it toward one side by giving an anti-inflammatory stimulus," he says, in this case, away from harmful inflammation. "It's potentially a really safe way to treat inflammatory disease."
    The research was funded by the National Institutes of Health.
    Read more at: Sciencedaily.com

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      110,266
    • Total Posts
      949,816
  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      77,750
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Kresge
    Joined
  • Popular Now

  • Topics

  • Posts

    • If someone is doing an elimination diet and not having dairy for a while, would I still be able to eat some cheese since it is low in lactose? Or is best to give up any and all dairy during elimination trials?  Oh,and for cheese, I think it was the Cabot website for hard cheeses that mentions almost all theirs is gluten free. But sounds like most cheeses are.  Still, it can be nice when the company's website mentions it. 
    • Thanks, Ennis.  Do you know, is corn considered one of the top 8 allergens?  I am not sure yet if dairy bothers me, but if it does not, I still need to look for corn starch or corn syrup in ice cream.  Luckily, some Haagen Dazs seems to be corn-free.   Thanks for the links.  
    • As your vitamin d and iron levels are low it suggests celiac disease because if I am not wrong ,your iron levels is low without any reason.  To rule out confusion you should go for celiac gene test. Because if your gene test is positive then you should go for  biopsy of small intestines to confirm the diagnosis about celiac disease.   I also have heaviness,nausea and various other symptoms I am on gluten diet since one year and my gene test is positive for celiac disease and symptoms also suggest.  So, according to my knowledge your all symptoms will get better after you start gluten free diet if you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.   Best of luck! 
    • I would avoid those "noodles" starches = gas right now.
      I avoid most stuff like cabbage, broccoli in all but the smallest amounts (1 leaf or 2-4 sprigs) and cook til mush. I found higher density vitamin greens to be best to avoid wasting the room I had for food, stuff like spinach, kale, butter leaf, romaine all have much higher ratios of vitamin A and K then other greens with less sugar, starches, carbs. So you can cram more in there.

      Soups, during flares, I find using meat and herbs to flavor them best, I got a Pots de Herb blend that is nice from The Spice House, tested gluten free for me. But gentle herbs instead of spices...think of Italian and french cuisines. Bit of oregano, basil, rosemary, thyme, etc. Avoiding peppers, spices, and going very limited to no garlic and onions. Funny fact they make bonito flakes (dried fish) like Eden Foods, that makes a good fish flavoring if you boil them into water. Not now but later you can do this with coconut secret aminos,  wakame, or kambu for a asian fish stock for soups.

      I would seriously suggest trying eggs...they have been my savoir for flares, I just cook them soft with almond milk in them in a microwave so they are moist...and soft.

      I treat myself about once a month with either canned tuna, salmon, or millers crab meat (the real stuff), I found the crab easiest to digest and a super strong flavor in soups or with eggs.

      But again step back and say "I will try this for the first week" "Try this the second week" etc. Step by step on how you will try stuff, I know you want to jump to it and try to see what all you can eat but you have to space it and take it every few days for your testing of yourself to be accurate.

      Simple foods, the fewer ingredients the better, give yourself a low single digit number and stick to it so you do not get overwhelmed.
    • I think turkey would be great!  I am sort of thinking you might just want to do a sort of bland diet - as if you were getting over the stomach virus.  So a simple chicken soup with some cooked veggies like carrots and green beans or peas - you can then put it over rice or rice noodles if you want.  I like your idea of staying away from dairy, etc.  You can do that for a few weeks.   Grill the chicken on the grill or cook with a little olive oil in a pan - you can get a nice brown on the outside that adds a lot of flavor.  then put  little water in the pan and boil it and scrape the bottom and dump that in with the rice or veggies that are cooking.  You can throw that chicken in your soup/ rice.  If you cook fresh spinach in things - it can add a lot of spinach flavor.   I think cooked fruits or veggies are usually the easiest to digest.  But really keep it to a few things for a couple of weeks then add then when you are feeling a bit better.
  • Blog Entries

  • Upcoming Events