Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I am new here and have a question about Planters Cashews? Are they gluten free even if the can does not say gluten free?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If the label reads just cashews its okay but you gotta watch for the seasoned nuts...or the spiced nuts.some may not be gluten-free due to the spice or seasoning ingredient

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Planters is a Kraft brand. Kraft will not hide gluten. If an ingredient is derived from a gluten grain, the name of the grain will appear in the ingredients.

Kraft do not test for accidental gluten contamination, and therefore do not label products as gluten-free.

I trust Kraft products and use many of them.

Here's a list of companies that have a clear gluten disclosure policy. If you don't see "wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, oats" on the labels, its not there, or hidden in "flavors, starches, etc."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the US, if it contains wheat, they must list it. If it contains malt or barley malt, they will list it because it's a premium ingredient. Once in a while, a nut will have a flavor and list wheat - like a nacho cheese flavoring, for example. I eat nuts from planters, even the honey roasted. But I always read labels.

You wouldn't have much to eat if you only ate stuff that says " gluten free" on it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×