Char52678

The California Food Company

Rate this topic

I am new to this Gluten free world, about 3 weeks.

I purchased this frozen pizza from my local grocery store (Winn Dixie). It was a small reaction compared to the reason I started avoiding Gluten. However I did start to get a nauseas feeling that wasn't as bad as I've experienced in the past and then of course the immediate tired feeling, but not exhausted like in the past. I do feel like I was glutened and wonder how when the box said Gluten free. I proceeded to pull the box out of the garbage to find that its Gluten Free, but produced in a wheat factory. Has anyone else experienced this with this name brand or even other brands?

Welcome,

A few of us are sensitive enough that a shared facility is a concern, but most of us are not.

Shared facility means that somewhere in the same building there is wheat--not necessarily in the same room. Are there any products containing wheat anywhere in your home? If so, you live in a shared facility.

Do you not think it derived from being produced in a wheat factory?

Hi Char52678,

We're sorry for your unpleasant experience. However careful procedures are put in place so this very sort of thing does not happen - our customer's satisfaction is our highest priority. We contacted our co-packer and here was their response: 

We avoid cross-contamination of gluten having the following procedures in place:
  • Physical segregation of ingredients: Ingredients with allergens are stored separate from ingredients without allergens
  • Physical segregation and scheduling of the process: Even if we produce gluten and non-gluten base product they are produced in physically separate rooms (divided by a wall) or they are scheduled in a way that they would never be produced at the same time
  • Sanitation Program: Our sanitation program is validated to eliminate allergens from the processing lines, full cleaning/sanitation on daily basis