Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hello. Does anybody know if Marcus theater popcorn is gluten free? I called the theater and the lady said "I have no idea. Its just popcorn". So, then I decided to come to this trusty forum :)

Thanks!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello. Does anybody know if Marcus theater popcorn is gluten free? I called the theater and the lady said "I have no idea. Its just popcorn". So, then I decided to come to this trusty forum :)

Thanks!!

I'm not familiar with that particular name, but the popcorn probably is not the concern. The oil it's cooked in could be a minor concern.

But I must say, I have never gotten ill from popcorn in any theater I attended. Sometimes I go just for the popcorn. :P

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

At all of my local theaters the popcorn starts as gluten free. It is popped in either peanut or corn oil depending on which one I go to. One problem could be the butter sauce, which is practically liquid soy everywhere. Another problem could be CC. Most of the local theaters here sell hot dogs and such and are staffed by mostly 16 and 17 year old kids. They don't exactly worry about things like ditching their gloves they were wearing to get a hot dog before they go grab the scooper for popcorn. I simply am not willing to risk it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know the brand but when I asked at our theater, I got the same answer! "Uh...it's just popcorn." I made them give me the label and it literally was just corn. It was totally gluten free. They used the scooper just for the popcorn so I think it was safe. I let my daughter eat it. (Child size) Now, I am not celiac and will get violently ill on theater popcorn. I think it is just that the butter is so uh, uh, I don't even know what to call it. Just eat too much and then it makes you sick to even think about it. After puking my guts out on overdoing it, I don't think I have had it in 15 years. It is just too much for me. So if you eat it and get sick....it might not be the gluten! LOL I always order my dd without butter for that very reason.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In nearly 11 years I've never heard of a movie popcorn that wasn't gluten-free and I've never gotten sick from it. AS long as there are no weird flavors added, I don't even check it any more.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I got sick on it no long after going gluten-free but it turned out that I couln't digest corn in any large quantity. Since then i have had some....a handful....and was fine.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×