Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
hobbitqueen18

Kellog's Rice Crispies?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Does anyone know if Kellog's Rice Crispy treats are safe to eat? I looked at the ingredients and it did not look like there was any wheat in it but it didn't state it was gluten free either. For that matter is rice or even marshmallows gluten-free???

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What are the ingredients? They used to have malt in them which would make them unsafe for us as it comes from barley.

They do make a gluten free variety of Rice Crispies that are safe for us. I use those to make my own treats so I haven't looked at the ready made ones.

Plain rice is gluten free and many marshmellows are also.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The original Rice Crispies have Barley Malt. So did the ready made Rice Crispy treats last time I looked. Those are definitely not safe. Barley is a gluten grain.

There is a New Rice Crispies that is Gluten Free and it is made with brown rice. I think you have to make your own treats. http://www.ricekrispies.com/en_US/products/gluten-free-brown-rice-krispies-cereal.html/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nope, premade ones have malt . . . so those are a no-go.

I don't like to make a big batch of Rice Krispie treats because I end up eating most of them. You can just make a cup at a time . . . microwave cup, a little butter and a handful of marshmallows (kraft brand is good) a few seconds on the microwave to melt, stir till smooth, add (gluten-free)Rice Krispies and stir again. You can even eat them straight out of the cup . . . :huh: . . . not that I've ever done that.

Don't judge me :ph34r:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Pre made are out (sorry!). As far as making them on your own, in my store they sell both regular (with malt) and gluten free so you have to be careful. I don't really care for the gluten-free rice krispies so I trade them for fruity pebbles which are gluten-free :)

The marshmallows should be safe--I haven't found one that isn't.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was just making some fruity pebbles treats of my own and low and behold the back of the box advertised for gluten free premade fruity and coco pebble treats! Prefect timing so I had to share :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nope, premade ones have malt . . . so those are a no-go.

I don't like to make a big batch of Rice Krispie treats because I end up eating most of them. You can just make a cup at a time . . . microwave cup, a little butter and a handful of marshmallows (kraft brand is good) a few seconds on the microwave to melt, stir till smooth, add (gluten-free)Rice Krispies and stir again. You can even eat them straight out of the cup . . . :huh: . . . not that I've ever done that.

Don't judge me :ph34r:

I do this too! Sometimes I make them in the morning to send in my son's lunchbox. I'm with you ... if I make a big batch I wind up eating way too many.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Our grocery store doesn't sell the gluten-free Rice Krispies -- I bought some natural-foods brand "crispy brown rice puffs" at Whole Foods and was going to try making treats with them, but I don't have high hopes. I might wind up making Fruity Pebble treats too!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×