Rate this topic

Last fall me and my husband had pumpkin seeds. We baked them in the oven with salt they were SO good. I've heard they are pretty good for you too. But around here i have a hard time finding pumpkin seeds at all let alone ones that we know are free of gluten contamination....and when we have found them? They've been in small packages. Does anyone know of an online store or anything were pumpkin seeds can be bought in bulk and are certified gluten free?

I don't know, but can you grow some for next year? I grew a kind without hulls. They are Syrian Hulles. They grow well. The plants take alot of room. But without hulls they were easy to process. I feel sure the stores must have this variety or another like it.

Hopefully. You will find some for this year.

Diana

I can't stand the price of pumpkin seeds so instead I keep them as a fall treat. I buy pumpkins by the dozen all fall and do my own seeds, it's super easy, even if it's time consuming. I'm still in my first year gluten free and hadn't even really thought about how likely (or not) it may be for them to be contaminated to buy them ready to eat. I would just highly recommend hosing the pumpkins off in the back yard then giving them a good soap and water wash on the counter before cutting. If nothing else, it's peace of mind. Even if there isn't some sort of gluten on the outside of that pumpkin from the hay, chances are if you're buying from a small family type establishment you'll find poop on it. (Not appetizing, but that's just how farms work.)

I admit it, I am too lazy to do the roasting of the pepitas because I do enough cooking. :lol: I use pepitas in my granola bars and I order them from nuts.com, along with the diced dried fruits and a whole bunch of other Certified gluten-free nuts, seeds, dates, flours, xanthan gum, candies, etc.

I do not know where you live, hon, but they ship overnight and the quality is excellent. Just a suggestion!