Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
yo!melee

Vinegar

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Has anyone had symptoms similar to this after consuming vinegar? My eyelids and skin below my eyebrows puffed up and turned bright pink, I felt fairly dazed and had a hard time moving my arms, got nauseous and was ill, and then for the next 3 days felt completely lethargic and listless. I'm pretty freaked out by the reaction but I never went to the doctor because I wasn't really sure what happened. My other question is has anyone with vinegar issues been able to eat other types of vinegar (such as apple cider vinegar)? Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm unsure what the context is.

If you are referring to "vinegar" as a single-word ingredient, it is apple cider vinegar and is gluten-free. Other types of vinegar will have an adjective coupled with them. The only one we need to be concerned with is "malt vinegar," which is derived from barley and is definitely not gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Has anyone had symptoms similar to this after consuming vinegar? My eyelids and skin below my eyebrows puffed up and turned bright pink, I felt fairly dazed and had a hard time moving my arms, got nauseous and was ill, and then for the next 3 days felt completely lethargic and listless. I'm pretty freaked out by the reaction but I never went to the doctor because I wasn't really sure what happened. My other question is has anyone with vinegar issues been able to eat other types of vinegar (such as apple cider vinegar)? Thanks

Could be a corn issue. Just recently connected some gluten yoe reactions I was getting to corn, which a lot of vinegar is made from. Apple cider doesn't bother me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I felt nauseated, weak, and fatigued after just catching a whiff of vinegar. I am not certain what kind it was. I also swelled, I noticed the swelling in my abdomen and thighs. I didn't know to check my face at the time. It took a few days for my reaction to be done.

Vinegar is fermented, if I am correct. I react to fermentation. That might be a possibility for you too. Do you eat cheese, yougurt. Those are a couple of examples of other things fermented. I am not sure if this is connected with Celiac or not.

I have heard that people with a yeast infection also have trouble with vinegar. You might want to consider that.

Stay away from salad dressings, vinegar, catsup with vinegar, and tomato sauce with vinegar. There is catsup and tomato sauce made with lime or lemon juice.

Diana

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I avoid vinegar, white vinegar, or distilled vinegar as they are most often made from corn. I was initially diagnosed by digestive disease doctor as having an allergy to wheat and corn because of an extremely high IGE and further blood tests indicated wheat and corn as the problems.

Initially I did not know all the things made from corn and reacted to vinegar. I have noticed my stomach reacts immediately to corn-derived things and I become nauseaous and get stomach spasms. I do tolerate other vinegars not derived from corn such as balsamic, apple cider or wine vinegar and use them.

If vinegar bothers but you can tolerate balsamic, cider or wine vinegar then you need to carefully check condiments and sauces labels. If it doesn't specify apple cider, balsamic or wine vinegar then it most probably is a vinegar made from corn.

And so I if says vinegar, white vinegar or distilled vinegar then it is most probably made from corn and you shouldn't use it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I guess I wasn't clear enough earlier. If you see the single word "vinegar" as an ingredient it is NOT made from corn--it is made from apple cider.

In the U.S. when the terms Vinegar, Cider Vinegar, and Apple Vinegar are on a food label they must be made from apples. (Code of Federal Regulations [CFR] Title 21, Sec. 525.825, revised March 1995.)

SensitiveMe, I don't doubt that you have a problem with "vinegar," but it is not because of corn.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oops...I forgot to tell you about another vinegar which has never caused me the least bit of problems. Actually my favorite but difficult to find. It is Coconut Vinegar made by Coconut Secret. It's GlutenFree made from organic coconut sap which is aged and fermented for up to a year.

I get it at my local natural market when they have it. But you can check about it if you want at www.coconutsecret.com

According to cornfree and corn allergy sites vinegar can be made from any sugar but the most common method is to use corn that has been converted from starch into sugar.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Vinegar can indeed be made from corn. Such vinegar is listed as "distilled vinegar," or less commonly "grain vinegar," or "spirit vinegar."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rice vinegar has a nice, milder flavor. Great for salad dressing. In the Asian isle at most stores.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I LOVE rice vinnegar! It comes in different strengths, from 4.5% acidity all the way down to 2%. The 2% is so good and so mild you could literally drink it, and it tastes so good you might want to. And I can buy it at one of the grocery stores here which is a good thing because the closest Asian market is 60 miles away. Even before celiac I used to use it alone as a salad dressing - no oil necessary. Absolutely YUM!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks karen, and bartfull. :)

I will check out rice vinegars and look for the lower acid ones. One of the reasons I especially like the coconut vinegar is because it has a nearly neutral pH. I am starting to make my own mustards, mayonaisse and marinades and such so this is helpful for me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I LOVE rice vinnegar! It comes in different strengths, from 4.5% acidity all the way down to 2%. The 2% is so good and so mild you could literally drink it, and it tastes so good you might want to. And I can buy it at one of the grocery stores here which is a good thing because the closest Asian market is 60 miles away. Even before celiac I used to use it alone as a salad dressing - no oil necessary. Absolutely YUM!

I didn't know that ! That explains why the salad dressing I made with this new bottle of rice vinegar didn't taste quite right. This new one is the 4.2%. I bet my last one was the 2% because it tasted good right out of the bottle.

Thanks karen, and bartfull. :)

I will check out rice vinegars and look for the lower acid ones. One of the reasons I especially like the coconut vinegar is because it has a nearly neutral pH. I am starting to make my own mustards, mayonaisse and marinades and such so this is helpful for me.

I had never heard of coconut ones. That's good info for future readers. I might get some for fun.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is this a reaction to various vinegars, or to a specific kind? Is it the same reaction as your gluten reaction? I'm assuming not, since you asked the question in the Other Intolerances area, yeah?

Do you do all right with wine? If wine makes you ill, there's a possibility that it could be a sulfite issue. Many sulfite sensitive folks have problems with fermented products as the yeast can produce sulfites as a natural by-product. If you don't have any issues with wine, however, you wouldn't have problems with vinegar which has lower levels of sulfites than wine does.

Has anyone had symptoms similar to this after consuming vinegar? My eyelids and skin below my eyebrows puffed up and turned bright pink, I felt fairly dazed and had a hard time moving my arms, got nauseous and was ill, and then for the next 3 days felt completely lethargic and listless. I'm pretty freaked out by the reaction but I never went to the doctor because I wasn't really sure what happened. My other question is has anyone with vinegar issues been able to eat other types of vinegar (such as apple cider vinegar)? Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×