This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Another Job Related Question

Richterface

Richterface Newbie

I am still pretty new to my Celiac condition and I was wondering If my job is or could possibly effect my health negatively. I have been working for a number of fast food pizza chains as an assistant manager (Dominos for 2 years. Donatos - columbus ohio local).

As a manger it was my responsibility to oversee (wheat) dough rolling. I would roll dough in corn mill and stretch it to company regulation. I would handle the majority of the pizzas from start to finish. We were not required to wear gloves as it was impossible for someone to wear gloves and achieve the speed necessary for the position as well as accuracy.

I had recently decided to quit in order to find a job closer to where I live. Since I have management experience in pizza the only employer around that would hire me was Donatos pizza.

Currently I spend my time in a facility that produces a number of sandwiches on white and wheat buns (we are required to wear gloves at this station as we are dealing with raw product. However I am still required to touch dough, load them into a special proofer, and finally top the pizzas. There is no loose cornmill or wheat flour in our kitchen. However I have noticed that some employees touch freezer/walk in refrigerators after they have touched wheat containing products.