regmama

Ener-G Products And Costco

Rate this topic

Does this seem like a good deal from Costco for gluten-free baking flours? http://www.costco.com/Browse/Product.aspx?Prodid=11671773&search=gluten+free&Mo=19&cm_re=1_en-_-Top_Left_Nav-_-Top_search&lang=en-US&Nr=P_CatalogName:BC&Sp=S&N=5000043&whse=BC&Dx=mode+matchallpartial&Ntk=Text_Search&Dr=P_CatalogName:BC&Ne=4000000&D=gluten+free&Ntt=gluten+free&No=9&Ntx=mode+matchallpartial&Nty=1&topnav=&s=1

They also have other Ener-G products grouped together that seem like good deals, but I'm new to all this so I'm not sure, need advice of you experts.

I've never used their flours but I can tell you that their bread is inedible. Texture like sawdust and the NASTIEST foul taste! I bought some when I first started and after two bites I threw the loaf away. I thought I would be stuck with that horrible stuff or no bread at all and it broke my heart. Believe me, no bread at all would be better than that!

If you want to buy gluten-free bread, try Udi's multi-grain, Rudi's, Canyon Bakehouse 7-grain (my favorite), or Kinnikinick. Those are all good. Udi's has the taste and texture of french bread. Kinnickinick is more like regular white bread. Canyon Bakehouse 7-grain is a lot like those mult-grain breads in the grocery store that have those little nutty bits in them. And although I haven't tried Rudi's yet, everyone here says it's really good.

Oh gawd, I first tried Ener-G bread after my son was born when looking for dairy and soy free bread.

When I saw that in the gluten-free aisle I freaked and I swear I had labor pains!!! That stuff is frightening.

Though some say they do have a few good ones...I've yet to taste test it again though.

Ok if you have to be gluten free, dairy free, and egg free you can find a way to grill it. Grilling adds some flavor and texture to it.

It's the only bread the kids like grilled cheese sandwiches with.