0
mandigirl1

Rice In Restaurants

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hello all,

Does anyone know if the rice you get served in a restaurant has gluten?

I think I am taking a chance when I have it, even though I always tell the server about my celiac disease. I just hate limiting myself so much, now rice, good ol rice isnt safe? Yet of course my health is more important, so if I shouldnt take the chance I wont

Please advise......

Thanks!

:)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ads by Google:
Ads by Google:


I guess it would depend on if they cooked it in broth or water - the safest thing to do is ask. I hate having to ask stuff though and always feel like I am being a pain, so I just stopped going out. Hope you have better luck than I do.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rice in restaurants can contain gluten. You must ask if the rice is cooked in anything other than water like a broth or spices, ect. Plain rice cooked in nothing but water should be fine.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You definitely need to ask each individual place because it can contain gluten.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ahhh rice. Yum.

Safety of restaurant rice is going to depend a lot on what kind of food and how they prepare stuff as several people have already mentioned.

Asian restaurants *tend* to steam rice in plain water, so the white or brown plain rice is usually fine, but its always good to ask. Obviously fried rice is out of the question.

American restaurants tend to do stuff to rice which I always found uneccesary, like cook it in broth or add spices to it, which makes those types of restaurants much more difficult, I tend to not get rice at these places. A rice Pilaf is often made by adding pasta in ( think rice-a-roni), so that ones a big danger no-no usually. The one I look out for at these kinds of places is a wild rice medley, depending on preparation these can often be very good and adds a little pizzaz to the meal. Often they wont add the seasonings until right before it's served, the rice blends tend to be very absorbant, so they wait til the last minute.

The most important detail is grilling the server and making sure they go ask the cook.

I've gone straight to the manager a couple times when the server didn't seem to be getting it.

So, is it cooked in broth or plain water, does it have spices added, does it have pasta mixed in for flavor in texture.

HTH

Elonwy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ads by Google:


You know the rice that is brown.. I am not sure what it is called. They serve it in Chinese restaurants.. is that gluten-free? I mean like the actual rice.. not what it is cooked in or whatever.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think you're referring to Jasmine rice? Sortof a longer grain, brownish yellow in color?

Yes it is gluten-free.

Rice is actually always brown before its white ( I'm a fact junky don't mind me.) I found this great wikipedia article on rice. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rice

Here's some excerpts:

The seeds of the rice plant are first milled to remove the outer husks of the grain; this creates brown rice. This process may be continued, removing the germ and the rest of the husk, called bran at this point, creating white rice. The white rice may then be buffed with glucose or talc powder (often called polished rice), parboiled, or processed into flour. The white rice may also be enriched to add nutrients, especially those lost during the milling process. While the cheapest method of enriching involves adding a powdered blend of nutrients that will easily wash off (in the United States, rice which has been so treated requires a label warning against rinsing), more sophisticated methods which apply nutrients directly to the grain and then coat the grain with a water insoluble substance are resistant to washing.

I like this sentence. : Rice flour is generally safe for people on a gluten-free diet.

Thai Jasmine rice is long-grain and relatively less sticky, as long-grain rice contains less amylopectin than short-grain. Chinese restaurants usually serve long-grain as plain unseasoned steamed rice.

And some bizarre Wild Rice facts:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wild_rice

I love the Wikipedia.

Elonwy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the info and links. Those are always helpful.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fried rice can be ok if cooked in a skillet or clean surface and no soy sauce is added (or you can just bring your own gluten-free soy sauce) .

As far as rice in restaurants, the thing to look out for is if they have combined the rice with water and artificial chicken stock. Artificial chicken stock is normally made from wheat gluten......real chicken stock is ok.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I disagree actually. I have come across real chicken stock twice now that has had wheat gluten added to it. If they make thier own stock its usually ok, but the pre-packaged stuff real or not, is dangerous.

Elonwy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:


Elonwy,

I should have clarified.

When I say "Real Chicken stock", I mean the stock that is made at the restaurants by boiling chicken.

You are correct regarding the portion of chicken stocks that are canned/packaged -- some may contain gluten/food starch.

Normally, restaurants that have the "glutenized" chicken stock are mom/pop places and chain restaurants.

Most upscale places make their own chicken stock (which tastes better anyway)...

The biggest lesson to be learned here is that any manufactued/processed chicken should be avoided.

I apologize for my error...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you everyone for the helpful advice and information. Sure learned some interesting facts about rice!!!! I always like learning new things as I am a 4th grade teacher.

Anyway, you guys really confirmed my suspicions. Im going to be more careful and really follow the WHEN IN DOUBT DO WITHOUT! mantra/motto.

I used to follow that idea so carefully, now Ive been too lax.

I wonder about the sushi rice??? I eat a ton of sushi, and the rice, in case some of you dont know, is very sticky. I once heard (somewhere, not sure) that they add flour to make it thicker. Anyone familiar with this?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Glutinous Rice

A Thai Speciality

Also known as : Sticky rice or Sweet Rice

Characteristics : The consistency of what is commonly called "sticky" rice is derived from two kinds of starch in the kernels, namely amylose and amylopectin. A higher amount of the later increases the sticky texture. Glutinous rice can be easily distinguished from other varieties by its milky colour.

Production : The major production areas for glutinous rice are the upper nothern and northeastern regions of thailand where water is scarce. the best known and best quality variety is called "Sanpathong" which is grown mainly in the north.

Market Facts : Glutinous rice is most widely consumed in the ares where it is grown, as well as by certain communities in Laos and Cambodia. In addition to direct consumption, it is often used as an ingredient in sweet dishes, snacks and the brewing industry. It is also very popular in China, Japan and America.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am DF (dairy-free) as well as gluten-free. I was disappointed to learn a lot of Indian restaurants add milk to their rice :( .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I am DF (dairy-free) as well as gluten-free.  I was disappointed to learn a lot of Indian restaurants add milk to their rice  :( .

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

In the disappointment category, Chipolte rice isn't safe either. I was at one near me and saw the line server scrap the unwanted rice off of the flour tortilla of the person in front of me, and put it right back in the bin.

I had been watching Chipolte to see if they are safe. Since they don't touch the spoons to the tortillas, and many of the items on the line are gluten-free, I had hgh hopes, but it seems this chain isn't really safe either.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Maybe I missed something but the post about glutinous rice made it sound like it contains gluten, just to clarify it does not contain gluten:

http://www.vitacost.com/science/hn/Food_Gu...tinous_Rice.htm

I just got worried!!

Susan

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

glutinous means sticky. It's the gluten in wheat, rye, barley and maybe oats that holds together (sticks together) to make bread products. The gluten in other grains is different and digestable for celiacs.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
If they make thier own stock its usually ok, but the pre-packaged stuff real or not, is dangerous.

Elonwy

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I was at one time a professional chef and I would never, ever eat a chicken stock at a restaurant either canned or 'home made' many resaurants use a roux (flour browned with butter) to color or add a institutional soup base to the cooking chickens. I've learned the hard way until restaurants are certified as gluten-free I will eat at home.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

  • Who's Online   22 Members, 1 Anonymous, 481 Guests (See full list)

  • Top Posters +

  • Recent Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 06/23/2018 - If you’re looking for a great gluten-free Mexican-style favorite that is sure to be a big hit at dinner or at your next potluck, try these green chili enchiladas with roasted cauliflower. The recipe calls for chicken, but they are just as delicious when made vegetarian using just the roasted cauliflower. Either way, these enchiladas will disappear fast. Roasted cauliflower gives these green chili chicken enchiladas a deep, smokey flavor that diners are sure to love.
    Ingredients:
    2 cans gluten-free green chili enchilada sauce (I use Hatch brand) 1 small head cauliflower, roasted and chopped 6 ounces chicken meat, browned ½ cup cotija cheese, crumbled ½ cup queso fresco, diced 1 medium onion, diced ⅓ cup green onions, minced ¼ cup radishes, sliced 1 tablespoon cooking oil 1 cup chopped cabbage, for serving ½ cup sliced cherry or grape tomatoes, for serving ¼ cup cilantro, chopped 1 dozen fresh corn tortillas  ⅔ cup oil, for softening tortillas 1 large avocado, cut into small chunks Note: For a tasty vegetarian version, just omit the chicken, double the roasted cauliflower, and prepare according to directions.
    Directions:
    Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a cast iron or ovenproof pan until hot.
    Add chicken and brown lightly on both sides. 
    Remove chicken to paper towels to cool.
     
    Cut cauliflower into small pieces and place in the oiled pan.
    Roast in oven at 350F until browned on both sides.
    Remove from the oven when tender. 
    Allow roasted cauliflower to cool.
    Chop cauliflower, or break into small pieces and set aside.
    Chop cooled chicken and set aside.
    Heat 1 inch of cooking oil in a small frying pan.
    When oil is hot, use a spatula to submerge a tortilla in the oil and leave only long enough to soften, about 10 seconds or so. 
    Remove soft tortilla to a paper towel and repeat with remaining tortillas.
    Pour enough enchilada sauce to coat the bottom of a large casserole pan.
    Dunk a tortilla into the sauce and cover both sides. Add more sauce as needed.
    Fill each tortilla with bits of chicken, cauliflower, onion, and queso fresco, and roll into shape.
    When pan is full of rolled enchiladas, top with remaining sauce.
    Cook at 350F until sauce bubbles.
    Remove and top with fresh cotija cheese and scallions.
    Serve with rice, beans, and cabbage, and garnish with avocado, cilantro, and sliced grape tomatoes.

     

    Roxanne Bracknell
    Celiac.com 06/22/2018 - The rise of food allergies means that many people are avoiding gluten in recent times. In fact, the number of Americans who have stopped eating gluten has tripled in eight years between 2009 and 2017.
    Whatever your rationale for avoiding gluten, whether its celiac disease, a sensitivity to the protein, or any other reason, it can be really hard to find suitable places to eat out. When you’re on holiday in a new and unknown environment, this can be near impossible. As awareness of celiac disease grows around the world, however, more and more cities are opening their doors to gluten-free lifestyles, none more so than the 10 locations on the list below.
    Perhaps unsurprisingly, the U.S is a hotbed of gluten-free options, with four cities making the top 10, as well as the Hawaiian island of Maui. Chicago, in particular, is a real haven of gluten-free fare, with 240 coeliac-safe eateries throughout this huge city. The super hip city of Portland also ranks highly on this list, with the capital of counterculture rich in gluten-free cuisine, with San Francisco and Denver also included. Outside of the states, several prominent European capitals also rank very highly on the list, including Prague, the picturesque and historic capital of the Czech Republic, which boasts the best-reviewed restaurants on this list.
    The Irish capital of Dublin, meanwhile, has the most gluten-free establishments, with a huge 330 to choose from, while Amsterdam and Barcelona also feature prominently thanks to their variety of top-notch gluten-free fodder.
    Finally, a special mention must go to Auckland, the sole representative of Australasia in this list, with the largest city in New Zealand rounding out the top 10 thanks to its 180 coeliacsafe eateries.
    The full top ten gluten-free cities are shown in the graphic below:
     

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 06/21/2018 - Would you buy a house advertised as ‘gluten-free’? Yes, there really is such a house for sale. 
    It seems a Phoenix realtor Mike D’Elena is hoping that his trendy claim will catch the eye of a buyer hungry to avoid gluten, or, at least one with a sense of humor. D’Elena said he crafted the ads as a way to “be funny and to draw attention.” The idea, D’Elena said, is to “make it memorable.” 
    Though D’Elena’s marketing seeks to capitalizes on the gluten-free trend, he knows Celiac disease is a serious health issue for some people. “[W]e’re not here to offend anybody….this is just something we're just trying to do to draw attention and do what's best for our clients," he said. 
    Still, the signs seem to be working. D'elena had fielded six offers within a few days of listing the west Phoenix home.
    "Buying can sometimes be the most stressful thing you do in your entire life so why not have some fun with it," he said. 
    What do you think? Clever? Funny?
    Read more at Arizonafamily.com.

    Advertising Banner-Ads
    Bakery On Main started in the small bakery of a natural foods market on Main Street in Glastonbury, Connecticut. Founder Michael Smulders listened when his customers with Celiac Disease would mention the lack of good tasting, gluten-free options available to them. Upon learning this, he believed that nobody should have to suffer due to any kind of food allergy or dietary need. From then on, his mission became creating delicious and fearlessly unique gluten-free products that were clean and great tasting, while still being safe for his Celiac customers!
    Premium ingredients, bakeshop delicious recipes, and happy customers were our inspiration from the beginning— and are still the cornerstones of Bakery On Main today. We are a fiercely ethical company that believes in integrity and feels that happiness and wholesome, great tasting food should be harmonious. We strive for that in everything we bake in our dedicated gluten-free facility that is GFCO Certified and SQF Level 3 Certified. We use only natural, NON-GMO Project Verified ingredients and all of our products are certified Kosher Parve, dairy and casein free, and we have recently introduced certified Organic items as well! 
    Our passion is to bake the very best products while bringing happiness to our customers, each other, and all those we meet!
    We are available during normal business hours at: 1-888-533-8118 EST.
    To learn more about us at: visit our site.

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 06/20/2018 - Currently, the only way to manage celiac disease is to eliminate gluten from the diet. That could be set to change as clinical trials begin in Australia for a new vaccine that aims to switch off the immune response to gluten. 
    The trials are set to begin at Australia’s University of the Sunshine Coast Clinical Trials Centre. The vaccine is designed to allow people with celiac disease to consume gluten with no adverse effects. A successful vaccine could be the beginning of the end for the gluten-free diet as the only currently viable treatment for celiac disease. That could be a massive breakthrough for people with celiac disease.
    USC’s Clinical Trials Centre Director Lucas Litewka said trial participants would receive an injection of the vaccine twice a week for seven weeks. The trials will be conducted alongside gastroenterologist Dr. James Daveson, who called the vaccine “a very exciting potential new therapy that has been undergoing clinical trials for several years now.”
    Dr. Daveson said the investigational vaccine might potentially restore gluten tolerance to people with celiac disease.The trial is open to adults between the ages of 18 and 70 who have clinically diagnosed celiac disease, and have followed a strict gluten-free diet for at least 12 months. Anyone interested in participating can go to www.joinourtrials.com.
    Read more at the website for Australia’s University of the Sunshine Coast Clinical Trials Centre.

    Source:
    FoodProcessing.com.au

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      110,282
    • Total Posts
      949,894
  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      77,982
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Sisterbelle
    Joined
  • Popular Now

  • Topics

  • Posts

    • While not the best (less specific), AGA antibodies still have some value.  For the most part, most labs are now just running the newer DGP tests in the U.S. Some posters reside in countries that may not have the most current tests.  I assume the DGP was run, but I could be wrong.  Maybe the OP can clarify. Here is a study to back my claim: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5553580/
    • IgA 678 Tissue Transglutaminase IgA 2 units Tissue Transglutaminase IgG 3 units Giliadin IgG 24 units Giliadin IgA 62 Units but Endomysial Ab negative?
    • It looks like you were tested with the old anti-gliadin antibodies, which unfortunately are not good tests for Celiac Disease.  These old tests show that at some point gliadin has gotten into your system and an antibody has formed against it.  It may be a sign that you had "leaky gut".  These kinds of antibodies can come and go and overall are not very helpful in establishing a diagnosis. But there are some other blood tests that still might be useful:  the tissue transglutaminase (tTG-IgA) and the newer gliadin test:  deamidated gliadin peptide antibodies (DGP IgA and DGP IgG).       Some doctors will proceed with a biopsy if you have symptoms and negative celiac blood tests, because even in Celiac Disease blood tests are negative about 10% of the time.  There are some screening checklists here:  http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/screening-checklists.html If you have all the right tests and they are negative, you could still have non-celiac gluten sensitivity or other types of food sensitivity.  At that point you could do an elimination diet to determine what is causing symptoms.
    • Wow!  I wish you the best on your upcoming Ironman.  I have done some sprints and relays, but never an Ironman.  Usually, I do Century Rides.  Like you, I am on a lower carb, high fat gluten-free diet.   Hey, I am looking at two Nunn containers right now in y kitchen.  One, citrus fruit does have corn, dextrose.  The other, Pomergranate Blueberry does not.  It simply has sugar (non-GMO sourced).  
    • Welcome!  At 235, your Immunoglobulin A is normal.  In the case of celiac disease, this test validates the other IgA celiac tests (it is a control test).  The positive gliadin IgA is elevated.  This means you should get referred to a Gastroenterologist for an endoscopy to obtain small intestinal biopsies.  You do not need all the celiac blood tests to be positive.  In fact, I just had only the elevated gliadin IGA and my biopsies revealed some moderate to severe patches of damaged villi.   Keep eating gluten until you see the Gastroenterologist.  In the meantime, keep researching celiac disease and ask questions!  
  • Blog Entries

  • Upcoming Events