Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
coffeeaddictfish

Reese's Peanut Butter Pumpkins Snack Size Gluten Free?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

So I've had my "gluten belly" for a few weeks now (not normal) and the only thing i can think of that's different is that i've been eating the reese's peanut butter pumpkins, snack size... I never get sick off the regular pb cups and there's nothing in the ingredients on the PB pumpkins, but i'm just not sure.. Has anyone at these and did they get sick?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Check the Reese's website and there are also lists of "safe gluten-free" Halloween candy out there. I know Reese's are a touchy one, historically. Best to stick with "regular" cups if you eat them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unilever has a frozen Reese's peanut butter pumpkin shaped ice cream snack. Not exactly candy but ooooh so good. I'm super sensitive and no reaction! :D In fact maybe I should have one for breakfast.

I hunted down this link for you. Sadly it looks like the pumpkins aren't safe for us. This sucks because the holiday shapes of Reese's have the best peanut butter to chocolate ratio. Jerks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

wow... Thanks for much for replying and for finding the link for me!!!! UGH.. that sucks.. at least it will make me stop eating them.. lol

I think it's FINE to eat frozen pb pumpkins for breakfast.. lol

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This list is not all inclusive, which they explain at the top of the page. Most of the Reese's products are gluten free (normal sizes) but you have to read the labels very carefully. I eat the big Reese's cups, normal cups, Nutrageous and Fast Breaks with no issue. Typically they do tell you to avoid the mini sizes and the holiday shapes however.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have seen holday shaped Reese's with wheat listed and others without.

Read the labels.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I did review the labels and nothing on there even mentioned any type of gluten item. However, I haven't ate any of these since Thursday and my "gluten belly" is now smaller.. so i'm assuming it was something. I'm not sensitive to "cross contamination" so there must be SOMETHING in these that made me sick.. who knows.. thanks for all your feedback!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had the same problem a few weeks ago. I also can't identify anything else that was out of the ordinary for me to eat. I double-checked the package, and there was nothing about wheat or any other gluten ingredients. It didn't even have the blanket "processed on shared equipment used with wheat..." disclaimer. After reading your post, I visited their website, which stated that holiday PB cups may not be gluten free. This is really upsetting, because I thought labeling laws required manufacturers to state this on the package. It's not reasonable to expect folks with celiac to look up every single item online before purchasing and eating it!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

After reading your post, I visited their website, which stated that holiday PB cups may not be gluten free. This is really upsetting, because I thought labeling laws required manufacturers to state this on the package.

They do have to disclose wheat on the package. But sometimes a product, particularly a seasonal one, is made in more than one facility, with slight variations in ingredients. In such a case, a generalization can not be made on the web site. Always read the actual label.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×