This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

College: Meal Plan Vs. Cooking

DS29790bb

DS29790bb Rookie

Well, I am currently a college sophomore. As a freshman, we were required to have large meal plans. I had the largest one so I ate in the dining hall every day, but so did everyone else. For gluten-free, it wasn't great, but decent. Sometimes they put out some food that was gluten-free and fine, but some days, I was eating hamburgers with no bun, salads, and lots and lots of fruit.

Now as a sophomore, we have much bigger dorm rooms and we have kitchens. We still have to have a meal plan, but they can be much cheaper. Mine is currently the same one as last year, around $2100. But they have a variety of plans, such as $1500 and $1280 and $685 declining balance meal plan, where you can switch between the dining hall and cooking (FYI, prices to eat in the dining hall average around $8).